Chhattisgarh Congress sacks four rebel leaders, issues notices to nine

Raigarh: The opposition Congress in Chhattisgarh has expelled four rebel party leaders from its membership for a period of six years and issued notices to nine others, including a party block president, for their alleged anti-party activities during the assembly polls.

The step was taken after complaints against these leaders by Congress candidates of Dharamjaigarh, Lailunga and Sarangarh constituencies during a recent review meeting of the party, Raigarh district Congress Committee (Rural) chief Dilip Pandey said here today.

Leaders who were expelled from the party's primary membership for a period of six years are Surendra Singh Sidar of Lailunga, Gulab Singh Rathiya of Dharamjaigarh, Gopal Baghe and Goldy Nayak of Sarangarh, he said, adding that they did not respond to the party's notices to them.

Apart from that, notices were issued to Tamnar block Congress chief Rajmati Bhagat, Dharnujay Bhagat, Prem Singh Rathiya, Santram Rathiya, Rohini Rathiya, Raja Sharma, Neeraj Sharma, Raju Sidar and Bajrang Agrawal for their alleged involvement in anti-party activities during the just concluded Chhattisgarh state assembly polls, he said.

A committee has been constituted to take further action in this connection, he said.

First Published: Friday, November 29, 2013, 16:15

comments powered by Disqus

Previous Poll Results

  • Chhattisgarh
  • (90/90) Seats
  • chhattisgarh
  • Party
  • BJP
  • Congress
  • BSP
  • Others
  • Seats
  • 49
  • 38
  • 2
  • 1

Poll Schedule

  • Chhattisgarh
  • 90 Seats
  • Polling
  • Counting
  • Nov 11 (Phase 1)
  • Nov 19 (Phase 2)
  • Dec 8


Is BJP`s good showing in Assembly elections indicative of Narendra Modi wave in country?