MP Minister Kailash Vijayvargiya wins sixth election in row

Indore: Madhya Pradesh Minister and senior BJP leader Kailash Vijayvargiya on Sunday won from Mhow near here, posting his sixth straight victory in Assembly elections.

He defeated Antarsingh Darbar of Congress by 12,216 votes. Vijayvargiya, who currently holds industry portfolio, bagged 89,848 votes as against 77,632 secured by his nearest rival.

In the last Assembly election too, Vijayvargiya had trounced Darbar from Mhow, a cantonment town about 25 km from Indore, albeit with a reduced margin of 9,791 votes.

The BJP leader has created a record of sorts, winning six elections in a row. Vijayvargiya earlier emerged victorious in 1990, 1993, 1998 and 2003 from different Assembly segments in Indore district.

First Published: Sunday, December 08, 2013, 22:11

comments powered by Disqus

Previous Poll Results

  • Madhya Pradesh
  • (230/230) Seats
  • mp
  • Party
  • BJP
  • Congress
  • BSP
  • Others
  • Seats
  • 143
  • 71
  • 7
  • 9

Poll Schedule

  • Madhya Pradesh
  • 230 seats
  • Polling
  • Counting
  • Nov 25
  • Dec 8
Is BJP`s good showing in Assembly elections indicative of Narendra Modi wave in country?