No woman makes it to Mizoram House yet again

Aizawl: Though women voters outnumbered their male counterparts in Mizoram, no woman once again made it to the state legislature in the election held on November 25.

Two women candidates belonging to major political parties -- Tlangthanmawii of the INC and Lalmalsawmi of the MNF --were defeated by male candidates.

Three women candidates belonging to BJP were in the bottom, while the lone woman Independent nominee B Sangkhumi, former President of the Mizo Hmeichhe Insuihkhawm Pawl (MHIP) or Mizo Women Federation also suffered loss.

There had been no woman legislator in Mizoram during the past 25 years.

First Published: Tuesday, December 10, 2013, 00:17

comments powered by Disqus

Previous Poll Results

  • Mizoram
  • (40/40) Seats
  • mizoram
  • Party
  • Congress
  • MNF
  • MPC
  • Others
  • Seats
  • 32
  • 3
  • 2
  • 3

Poll Schedule

  • Mizoram
  • 40 Seats
  • Polling
  • Counting
  • Nov 25
  • Dec 9
Is BJP`s good showing in Assembly elections indicative of Narendra Modi wave in country?