Assembly polls: Rebels in Rajasthan may upset the apple cart

Jaipur: Expelled from their parties, over 33 rebels of Congress and Bharatiya Janata Party may affect plans of the two heavyweights who are already facing challenge from newly-floated National People's Party. 17 rebels of Congress and 16 of BJP are set to give a tough time to party's official candidates and may affect their chances of winning the seats.

On November 18, Congress had expelled 17 rebel candidates for a period of six years. The list included five former ministers and seven former legislators, and one sitting MLA.

BJP's list of 16 rebels included two former ministers, two sitting MLAs, six former MLAs. In one of state's toughest poll battles, sitting Congress MLA Rita Choudhary has challenged PCC president Chandrabhan from Mandawa Assembly seat.

Former minister Rajkumar Sharma may upset poll equations of Congress candidate Pratibha Singh from Nawalgarh seat while Jat leader Harendra Mirdha is giving a tough fight to Congress' Shaukat Ali at Nagaur seat.

Former Congress minister Rajendra Choudhary in fighting against party's Amridevi (mother of Bhanwari Devi case accused Malkhan Singh).

Other Congress rebels vying against the official candidates include former ministers Laxman Singh Rawat on Bheem seat, Ratanlal Tambi on Jahajpur seat, Abdul Aziz on Makrana seat, Ramgopal Bairwa on Pipalda seat, and former MLAs Hangamilal on Asind seat, Babulal Singaria on Kekari seat, Ghasilal on Keshorapatan seat and Durgaprasad from Gangapur seat.

On BJP rebels front, former Assembly speaker Sumitra Singh is also giving triangular contest to BJP's Rajeev Singh and Congress' Brijendra Ola (son of union minister Sis Ram Ola) on Jhunjhunu seat.

Lok Sabha MP Kirorilal Meena's National People's Party (NPP), has fielded 133 candidates. Meena, a tribal leader, is giving sleepless nights to Congress and BJP and could play a deciding role in government formation after the polls as his support is expected to be crucial.

First Published: Saturday, November 30, 2013, 22:03

comments powered by Disqus

Previous Poll Results

  • Rajasthan
  • (200/200) Seats
  • rajasthan
  • Party
  • Congress
  • BJP
  • Others
  • Seats
  • 102
  • 79
  • 19

Poll Schedule

  • Rajasthan
  • 200 Seats
  • Polling
  • Counting
  • Dec 1
  • Dec 8
Is BJP`s good showing in Assembly elections indicative of Narendra Modi wave in country?