BJP MLA wins by highest margin in Rajasthan

Jaipur: Five-time BJP MLA Ghanshyam Tiwari scored the biggest victory in 2013 Rajasthan assembly polls by retaining Sanganer seat defeating Congress candidate with a huge margin of 63,350 votes in a one-sided contest.

Former minister Ghanshyam Tiwari defeated his nearest rival of Congress Sanjay Bapna on Sanaganer constituency here.

He got 1,12,465 votes, 66.03 per cent of total votes polled in the constituency.

"This is a historic victory and the credit goes to people who blessed me," Tiwari said.

BJP's Chief Ministerial candidate Vasundhara Raje defeated Congress rival on Jhalrapatan seat with a margin on 60,896 votes, other BJP candidates Banwari Lal Singhal (Alwar Urban) and Pratap Singh (Chhabra) also won elections by a huge margin of 62,229 and 61,385 votes respectively.

Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot retained Sardarpura seat in Jodhpur by defeating BJP's Shambhu Singh Khetasar with a margin of 18,478 votes.

The win with the smallest margin was on Amber seat in Jaipur where National Peoples Party (NPP) candidate Navin Pilania won. The difference of votes was only 329.

Pilania defeated his nearest rival of BJP Satish Poonia.

NPP convener Kirori Meena also won by a small margin of 491 votes from Lalsot constituency in Dausa district.

Prominent Congress leader and UDH minister in Gehlot cabinet, Shanti Dhariwal, lost by a margin of 14,861 votes on Kota North constituency whereas Tourism minister Bina Kak was defeated by a huge margin of 42,643 votes.

In the assembly elections results declared yesterday on 199 seats out of 200, BJP bagged 162 seats whereas Congress could manage only 21 seats.

First Published: Monday, December 09, 2013, 20:00

comments powered by Disqus

Previous Poll Results

  • Rajasthan
  • (200/200) Seats
  • rajasthan
  • Party
  • Congress
  • BJP
  • Others
  • Seats
  • 102
  • 79
  • 19

Poll Schedule

  • Rajasthan
  • 200 Seats
  • Polling
  • Counting
  • Dec 1
  • Dec 8
Is BJP`s good showing in Assembly elections indicative of Narendra Modi wave in country?