Historic voter turnout in Raj Assembly polls at 75.27 pc

Jaipur: Rajasthan districts bordering Pakistan, Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh and Punjab recorded an increase in voter turnout in the Assembly polls which witnessed a historic turnout of 75.2 per cent.

The state's highest ever recorded turnout far exceeded 2008 Assembly poll's 66.39 per cent turnout.

Jaisalmer recorded 85.26 per cent polling, Hanumangarh - 84.93 per cent, Ganganagar - 83.93 per cent, Banswara - 81.62 per cent, Chittorgarh - 81.44 per cent, Jhalawar - 80.63 per cent, Pratapgarh - 80.14 per cent, Baran - 78.35 per cent, Dholpur -77.25 per cent, Churu - 76.98 per cent, Alwar - 77.49 per cent and Bikaner 75.65 per cent, according to Chief Electoral Officers' final tally today.

Pali recorded a minimum poll turnout of 66.23 per cent followed by Sirohi 69.59 per cent.

Out of over 4.08 crore voters, over 3.01 cr voters have exercised their franchise. Female voter turnout (75.33 per cent) was more than male voters (75.03 per cent).

939 blind voters used brail signeage facility and 16,688 other blind persons cast votes with the help of their companions.

As per EC statistics, voters turnout as compared to 2008 elections has increased in 31 out of 33 districts in the state.

The 14th State Legislative Assembly polls were held in 199 out of 200 constituencies in 33 districts of the state in which poll fortune of 2087 candidates, including Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot and BJP state President Vasundhara Raje, was sealed in EVMs.

The polling went off peacefully except for some police firing in the air at a few places to restore calm. A pick up van was also set ablaze and reports of attempt to capture a booth and malfunctioning of EVMs were reported from some places, officials said.

Polling in Churu constituency was adjourned following BSP candidate Jagdish Meghwal's death and it would be held on December 13. The counting of votes would take place on Decmeber 8.

First Published: Monday, December 02, 2013, 15:07

comments powered by Disqus

Previous Poll Results

  • Rajasthan
  • (200/200) Seats
  • rajasthan
  • Party
  • Congress
  • BJP
  • Others
  • Seats
  • 102
  • 79
  • 19

Poll Schedule

  • Rajasthan
  • 200 Seats
  • Polling
  • Counting
  • Dec 1
  • Dec 8
Is BJP`s good showing in Assembly elections indicative of Narendra Modi wave in country?