Karnataka polls: AAP releases second list of candidates

Polling will be held from 7 am to 5 pm across Karnataka on May 12. Votes will be counted on May 15.

Karnataka polls: AAP releases second list of candidates
Pic courtesy: Twitter/@AAPKarnataka

Bengaluru: The Aam Aadmi Party on Tuesday announced the second list comprising ten candidates to contest the upcoming Assembly elections in Karnataka.

Those given tickets are Asif Herkal from Devarahipparagi, Ajit Babu from Ramanagara, B R Bhaskar Prasad from Mahadevapura, A Ilangovan from Gandhinagar, Farooqsaab Nadaf from Belagavi (North), Sadananda Metri from Belagavi (South), Sanjeeva Kumar Karikal from Kalaburgi North, Dr. Sundara Gowda from Chickamagaluru, B Prabhuswamy from Gubbi and S F Patil from Dharawad (Rural). 

Releasing the list, party's co-convener and in charge of state Political Affairs Shivakumar Chengalraya introduced the candidates and said the people are eagerly looking for alternative politics and change from the traditional politics of Karnataka.

"Our Delhi government's work in the last three years, particularly in the field of education and healthcare, has boosted our confidence. It won accolades across the globe for revolutionary developments in the education and health sectors," he said, PTI reported.

Chengalraya said none of the candidates face any charge of corruption, criminal or communal activity. He added that AAP has so far released the list of 28 candidates and will contest more than 40 seats.

Meanwhile, Karnataka Governor Vajubhai R Vala on Tuesday notified the May 12 elections, the State Election Commission said.

"The Governor is pleased to call upon the people to elect members to the 15th legislative assembly in accordance with the Representation of the People`s Act, 1951," the poll panel said in a statement, as per IANS.

Of the total seats, 36 are reserved for Scheduled Castes and 15 for the Scheduled Tribes. The notification paves the way for candidates to file nominations in the constituencies they are contesting from.

April 24 is the last date for filing nominations while scrutiny will be taken up on April 25. The last date for withdrawal is April 27. Polling will be held from 7 am to 5 pm across the state on May 12. Votes will be counted on May 15.

Elaborate arrangements have been made to ensure peaceful voting amid tight security at 58,546 polling booths across 224 constituencies, using Electronic Voting Machines along with Voter Verified Paper Audit Trails.

As many as 450 polling booths are `pink booths`, managed by all-women officials, including police, in all Assembly segments.

The southern state has 4.96 crore registered electors, including 2.52 crore men and 2.44 crore women. Over 15 lakh are first-time voters in the 18-19 age group.

About 3.5 lakh security personnel will be deployed during the polling in the state. 

(With Agency inputs)