This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Bihar Assembly Elections 2015 Results

Communist Party Of India (Marxist)

Communist Party Of India (Marxist)

The Communist Party of India (Marxist) emerged from a split from the Communist Party of India in 1964. The CPI(M) was formed at the Seventh Congress of the Communist Party of India held in Calcutta from October 31 to November 7, 1964. The strength of CPI(M) is concentrated in the states of Kerela, West Bengal and Tripura. As of 2015, CPI(M) is leading the state government in Tripura. It also leads the Left Front coalition of leftist parties. As of 2013, CPI(M) claimed to have 1,065,406 members. CPI(M) is organised on the basis of democratic centralism, a principle conceived by Vladimir Lenin which entails democratic and open discussion on policy on the condition of unity in upholding the agreed upon policies. The highest body of the party is the Politburo. CPI(M) currently has nine MPs in Lok Sabha. As of 2015, CPI(M) heads the state government in Tripura. Manik Sarkar is a chief minister belonging to the party. In Tripura, the party has a majority of its own in the state assembly, but governs together with Left Front partners.

  • Total
  • Won
  • Leading

Candidates Contesting

  • Candidate
  • Constituency
  • Status
  • Raj Mangal Prasad
  • Pipra
  • Lost
  • Dhirendra Kumar Choudhary
  • Buxar
  • Lost
  • Nageshwar Prasad Yadav
  • Pipra
  • Lost
  • Naresh Chandra Sharma
  • Hisua
  • Lost
  • Rajeev Kumar Singh
  • Purnia
  • Lost
  • Sheo Shankar Singh
  • Jhajha
  • Lost
  • Dr. Satyendra Yadav
  • Manjhi
  • Lost
  • Shiv Shankar Pd. Ray
  • Parsa
  • Lost

CPI(M) in News

Ruling CPI-M wrests one Assembly seat, retains another in Tripura

Polling for the two scheduled caste reserved seats in Tripura took place on Saturday amidst tight security.

Five Naxals gunned down in Chhattisgarh's Narayanpur

Five Naxals gunned down in Chhattisgarh's Narayanpur

So far, bodies of 15 Maoists of their military formations have been recovered by the Bastar Police in this month as part of the ongoing `Mission 2016 Bastar`.

By-poll begins in two Tripura Assembly seats

By-poll in two Tripura Assembly seats - Barjala and Khowai - began on a peaceful note amidst tight security.

36 percent voter turnout in West Bengal by-polls

Voting for by-elections in two Lok Sabha constituencies and one Assembly seat in West Bengal began on Saturday morning under the shadow of the Centre's demonetisation drive.

CPI(M) stands for Indian nationalism, not Hindu nationalism: Sitaram Yechury

CPI(M) stands for Indian nationalism and not Hindu nationalism, its general secretary Sitaram Yechury said on Tuesday.

Corruption will be dealt with sternly: Achuthanandan

Veteran CPI-M leader and former chief minister VS Achuthanandan on Saturday applauded the Kerala government`s battle against corruption.

Bihar Elections 2015 Photos