This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Bihar Assembly Elections 2015 Results

Janta Dal (United)

Janta Dal (United)

Janata Dal (United) is a centre left Indian political party with political presence mainly in Bihar, Jharkhand and Kerala. The Janata Dal (United) was formed with the merger of the Sharad Yadav faction of the Janata Dal, the Lokshakti Party and the Samata Party on 30 October 2003. The 2015 Assembly Elections are very crucial for the party, especially for incumbent CM Nitish Kumar as he has taken a huge political risk by aligning with Lalu Prasad Yadav of Rashtriya Janata Dal. A victory may see a rise in his political fortunes and pave the way for his return to national politics. Also, the number of seats won will have a direct bearing on JD(U)'s presence in the Parliament as five Rajya Sabha seats are falling vacant in 2016 and all of these belong to the party. As the party is contesting only 101 seats out of 243, it will be able to send just 1 member as 41 votes are needed for each Rajya Sabha seat.

  • Total
  • Won
  • Leading

Candidates Contesting

  • Candidate
  • Constituency
  • Status
  • Khurshid Urf Firoj Ahmad
  • Sikta
  • Won
  • Krisha Nnandan Prasad Verma
  • Ghosi
  • Won
  • Manoranjan Singh
  • Ekma
  • Won
  • Umesh Singh Kushwaha
  • Mahnar
  • Won
  • Vidya Sagar Singh Nishad
  • Morwa
  • Won
  • Narendra Kumar Singh Alias Bogo Singh
  • Matihani
  • Won
  • Krishan Chandra
  • Pipra
  • Lost
  • Doctor Pramod Kumar Singh
  • Bhabua
  • Lost
  • Shatrughan Prasad Suman
  • Sikti
  • Lost
  • Doctor Ranvijay Kumar
  • Goh
  • Lost
  • Ramchandra Prasad Singh
  • Gurua
  • Lost
  • Rishi Mishra
  • Jale
  • Lost
  • Krishan Kumar Mantoo
  • Amnour
  • Lost
  • Manoj Kumar
  • Barh
  • Lost

JD(U) in News

ED files money laundering case to probe Bihar toppers scam

The Enforcement Directorate (ED) has registered a money laundering case to probe alleged irregularities in the 2016 Bihar toppers scam case related to the state school examination board.

Bomb attack at JD(U) MP's house, one arrested

A JD(U) MP escaped unhurt when antisocials exploded a bomb outside her residence in Bhagalpur and one person has been arrested in this connection, the police said.

Bihar ministers, MLAs favour doing away with beacon lights

Appreciating Punjab's initiative to do away with beacon lights on vehicles of ministers, MLAs and bureaucrats, ministers and legislators in Bihar cutting across party lines today favoured the same in the state.

Include Bhojpuri in 8th Schedule of Constitution: Janta Dal (United) MP Ali Anwar Ansari

Janta Dal (U) MP Ali Anwar Ansari on Thursday made a strong pitch in Rajya Sabha to include Bhojpuri in the 8th Schedule of Constitution, saying the language was spoken by 20-25 crore people.

Bihar CM Nitish Kumar's wife remembered on her birth anniversary​

Bihar CM Nitish Kumar's wife remembered on her birth anniversary​

 Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar on Saturday observed the birth anniversary of his late wife and social worker Manju Sinha.

Janta Dal (United) defends Farooq Abdullah, says can't doubt his ''nationalism''

The JD (U) on Saturday defended Farooq Abdullah`s controversial remark that the youth joining militant ranks are `sacrificing their lives for freedom of the valley`, saying that the former chief minister of Jammu and Kashmir knew the happenings of the state much better than anyone else and there was no reason to doubt his nationalism.

Bihar Elections 2015 Photos