This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Defence production, ex-DIPP secretaries eye TRAI's top post

Last Updated: Sunday, March 25, 2012 - 14:23

New Delhi: Two IAS officers are among the applicants in race for the post of chairperson for telecom regulator TRAI that will fall vacant following the retirement of J S Sarma in May.

It has been learnt that Department of Defence Production (DDP) Secretary Sekhar Agarwal and former DIPP secretary R P Singh are in among the contenders for the post of Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI) Chairman.

Besides being the secretary of Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion from January 1, 2010 to October 31, 2011, Singh has also served as the chairman of Punjab and Sind Bank from March 18, 2005 to October 25, 2010.

In his capacity as DIPP secretary, Singh was the member of Telecom Commission.

The other leading candidate for TRAI's chief post, Agarwal has got 33 years of experience in government services.

He was appointed DDP Secretary on July 6, 2011.

The government has formed a high level search-cum- selection committee comprising Cabinet Secretary Ajit Seth, Principal Secretary at Prime Minister's Office Pulok (rpt) Pulok Chatterjee, Secretary (Personnel) P K Mishra, Telecom Secretary R Chandrashekhar and Adviser to Prime Minister Sam Pitroda to finalise the Chairman.

The new chairman will take over at a time when the industry will be bracing up for 2G spectrum auctions.

Besides, the new head will be closely involved in the implementation of the new National Telecom Policy which is in the works.

Sarma took over as the Chairman of the Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI) in May 2009 from Nripendra Mishra. His retirement is due on May 14, 2012.


First Published: Sunday, March 25, 2012 - 14:23
comments powered by Disqus