IMC discusses 17 coal blocks to be allocated to PSUs

However, the Inter-Ministerial Committee will meet again," said a source.

New Delhi: The Inter-Ministerial Committee on Friday deliberated at length on 17 coal mines to be allocated to the PSUs but failed to reach any decision, sources said.

"The list of the PSUs to which the 17 coal blocks have to be allocated could not be finalised today.
However, the Inter-Ministerial Committee will meet again," said a source.

The committee, under the chairmanship of Coal Secretary S K Srivastava, consists of ministries including Power, Law & Justice, as well as Department of Economic Affairs and DIPP.

Put together, the coal blocks on offer have estimated reserves of 8.45 billion tonnes.

The Coal Ministry has received over 300 applications, including 235 from the power sector and 38 from mining firms, for the allocation of coal blocks to PSUs.

NTPC, Neyveli Lignite Corporation and MOIL are among the companies that have applied for the coal blocks.

In December, the ministry had invited proposals from the PSUs for allotment of mines, mostly for captive power plants.

It has initiated the process of allocation under the amended provisions of the Mines and Mineral Development and Regulation Act (MMDRA).

The blocks on offer include Jilga-Barpali, Baisi, Banai, Bhalmunda, Kente and Kerwa in Chhattisgarh; Gowa, Pachwara South and Kalyanpur-Badalpara in Jharkhand; Mahajanwadi in Maharashtra; and Kundanali-Laburi, Sarapal-Nuapara, Tentuloi, Chandrabila and Brahamani in Odisha.