Railways new timetable brings these changes from October 1

Updated: Oct 02, 2016, 16:18 PM IST
Railways new timetable brings these changes from October 1

Zee Media Bureau

New Delhi: Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu launched the new timetable "Train at a Glance", which became effective from October 1.

As per the new timetable, 350 existing trains will have reduced travel time. Out of these trains, 5 trains have become superfast because of the expected increase in speed.

Faizabad-Lucknow passenger train has been merged with Saharanpur-Lucknow and would run as a single service between Faizabad and Saharanpur. New Delhi-Bhatinda Shatabdi Express would be extended till Firozpur.

The new timetable also mentions connectivity to the northeastern states of Tripura, Manipur and Mizoram.

There will be also be Anand Vihar-Gorakhpur Hamsafar Express, which will be tri-weekly, rest of the nine Hamsafar trains will be weekly service.

Overnight double-decker train Uday Express will be run on the busiest routes, with a 40% higher carrying capacity.

Delhi-Chandigarh Tejas Express and Ananad Vihar-Lucknow Tejas Express will run six days a week and Mumbai-Karmali Tejas five days.

Ticket cancellation in Suvidha trains will return only 50 percent of the fare. Rs 100 will be charged for AC 2 ticket cancellation, Rs 90 for AC 3 ticket cancellation, and Rs 60 for sleeper ticket cancellaton.