This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Sharad Pawar named as head of GoM on coal-mining

Last Updated: Monday, July 23, 2012 - 20:49

New Delhi: Agriculture Minister Sharad Pawar has been named as head of the Group of Ministers on coal-mining, a position earlier held by Pranab Mukherjee.

However, his appointment was notified before Pawar's Nationalist Congress Party raised issues over functioning of the government and the UPA coalition, sources said.

His resignation along with that of his party colleague and Heavy Industries Minister Praful Patel is pending with Prime Minister Manmohan Singh.

The 12-member GoM on coal-mining was constituted by the Prime Minister in February 2011 to iron out issues impeding the sector, which is vital for meeting energy requirement of the economy.

The group comprises, among others, Power Minister Sushil Kumar Shinde, Steel Minister Beni Prasad Verma, Environment Minister Jayanthi Natarajan and Road Transport Minister C P Joshi.

Pawar had earlier this month quit as Chairman of the Empowered Group of Ministers (EGoM) on telecom even before it could meet for the first time after his appointment.


First Published: Monday, July 23, 2012 - 20:49
comments powered by Disqus