This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Four key FinMin officials including Basu, Gopalan retire

Last Updated: Tuesday, July 31, 2012 - 23:20

New Delhi: Four key Finance Ministry functionaries, including Department of Economic Affairs Secretary R Gopalan and Chief Economic Advisor Kaushik Basu, have demitted office Tuesday.

The term of Gopalan, Basu, Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT) Chairman Laxman Das and Central Board of Excise and Customs (CBEC) Chief S K Goel ended on July 31.

While Arvind Mayaram has already been appointed the new DEA Secretary and would take charge from tomorrow, the probables for the post of CEA include Raghuram Rajan, a former chief economist of the IMF, and Ajay Chibber, Assistant Secretary-General of the United Nations Development Programme.

Mayaram, currently special secretary and financial advisor in the Ministry of Rural Development, was a joint secretary when P Chidambaram was in the Finance Ministry three-and-a half years ago.

Mayaram would again be helping Chidambaram, who has been allocated the finance portfolio and is likely to assume office tomorrow.

Chidambaram will be back as Finance Minister, a position which fell vacant after Pranab Mukherjee resigned on June 26 to contest for Presidential elections.

As regards the CBDT, the senior most member of the board Poonam Kishore Saxena is tipped to take over as the new Chairman. Also for the first time in history, CBEC is likely to be headed by a woman -- Praveen Mahajan.


First Published: Tuesday, July 31, 2012 - 23:20
comments powered by Disqus