Scholarship for SAARC nations' finmin, central bank officials

Scholarship for SAARC nations' finmin, central bank officials Islamabad: The Reserve Bank of India Tuesday announced a scholarship scheme for higher studies in economics for officials from central banks and Finance Ministries of SAARC nations.

The scheme was announced here by RBI governor D Subbarao, who is on a two-day visit to Pakistan to attend SAARCFINANCE Group Meeting in Islamabad.

"The objective of the scholarship scheme is to strengthen regional cooperation through skill enhancement in economic research of officials of central banks/ministries of finance in the SAARC region," RBI said in a statement.

South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) member countries include - Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

Under the scheme, the Reserve Bank will offer one full-time scholarship to a candidate working in SAARC central banks/ministries of finance, for pursuing Ph.D; or M.A/M.S/M.Phil leading to Ph.D in economics in one of the identified universities/institutions in India.

The tenure of the scholarship will be four years, extendable by six months. Alternatively, the Reserve Bank will also consider awarding scholarship to candidates desirous of pursuing 2-year M.A/M.S/M.Phil in economics in selected universities/institutions in India.

The research field for the dissertation of Ph.D/M.Phil should be of relevance to any or all of the SAARC countries, RBI said in a statement.