Australia named unchanged squad for Brisbane Test against Pakistan

Australia up against Pakistan with same squad in Brisbane Test, try to move up in Test rankings

Australia named unchanged squad for Brisbane Test against Pakistan

New Delhi: Australia named an unchanged squad on Thursday for the first Test match – a day-night affair – against Pakistan starting 15 December at Gabba, Brisbane. This will also be the first day-night Test at the venue.

Selectors have decide to continue with same squad that helped Australia win their last match against South Africa, and hoped it deserved another chance under lights at Gabba.

"We were very pleased with how the team came together in Adelaide after some significant changes following the Tests in Perth and Hobart," said interim chief selector Trevor Hohns reports AFP.

"This is a young group with a lot of promise and we believe all deserve their opportunity again in this upcoming Test." he added.

Left-handed batsmen Shaun Marsh was not considered as he recovers from a broken finger easing pressure on Nic Maddinson's position.

“Shaun has yet to resume batting and will have a follow-up x-ray this week that will be reviewed by a specialist," said team physiotherapist Alex Kountouris.

Nathan Lyon, Australia's compelling spinner, was in the gun heading into Adelaide but a match-turning effort late on day three of that Test seemingly revived his fortunes. He also took five wickets in New South Wales' two-wicket loss to ensure his position in the national team.

Australia's third seamer position, behind spearheads Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazelwood will once again be contested between Jackson Bird and Chadd Sayers.

Sayers's recent form in Sheffield Shield season is outstanding where he is the leading wicket-taker with 29 scalps at 18.58 from five games, which impresses selectors and made them call him for the inaugural day-night Test in Brisbane.

Both teams had lost their last series. Aussies were downed by South Africa 2-1, and Pakistan lost in New Zealand 2-0.

Pakistan also decided to retain the same 16-man squad that recently played in New Zealand.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link