Mumbai: Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma was reprimanded by the match referee for showing excessive, obvious disappointment with the umpire`s decision during his team`s match against the Kolkata Knight Riders at the Wankhede Stadium on Sunday.
Rohit, who came to bat at number fourt for Mumbai, was wrongly given out LBW by umpire CK Nandan, following which the right-hander yelled at the umpire out of frustration. The replays suggested the umpire had clearly missed a big inside edge off Rohit's bat.
"Sharma admitted to the Level 1 offence 2.1.5 of the IPL Code of Conduct for Players and Team Officials. For Level 1 breaches of the IPL Code of Conduct, the Match Referee`s decision is final and binding," read the official statement.
The incident happened in the tenth over of Mumbai Indians' innings. With Parthiv Patel and Jos Buttler back in the pavilion, the hosts needed their skipper to play a captain's knock.
However, that was not the case as he was given out lbw off Sunil Narine's bowling. While KKR celebrated their third wicket, Rohit was clearly unhappy as he angrily gestured towards the umpire.
Mumbai however fought back and defeated KKR by four wickets with one ball remaining, as a result of two stupendous knocks from Nitish Rana (50) and Hardik Pandya (29*).
The duo unleashed some lusty blows towards the end to stun KKR, who were at one stage in total control of the proceedings.
Mumbai Indians will now take on Sunrisers Hyderabad in their third match on April 10 at the Wankhede Stadium.