This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

IPL 2017: When Brendon McCullum's hat cost Gujarat Lions 39 runs vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, watch video

Brendon McCullum, who is one of the best fielders despite having retired, produced a mind-blowing effort near boundary against Royal Challengers Bangalore.

IPL 2017: When Brendon McCullum's hat cost Gujarat Lions 39 runs vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, watch video

New Delhi: Former New Zealand skipper Brendon McCullum, who has been in good form for Gujarat Lions in the tenth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL), recently produced an incredible effort while fielding at long-off.

The incident happened during Lions' previous match against Royal Challengers Bangalore when Chris Gayle hit a ball from Ravindra Jadeja towards wide of long-off. While Gayle is a master when it comes to hitting sixes, the West Indian didn't time that shot well and it was falling inches inside the ropes before McCullum dived towards his right and pulled off a sensational catch.

While the team was delighted after getting the first breakthrough, the umpires asked Gayle to wait to check whether the catch was taken cleanly. The replays suggested that as Baz rolled over near the boundary after taking the catch, some part of his hat touched the ropes.

Gayle was called back by the umpires and he was batting on 38 when the incident happened. After being given a lifeline, the big-hitting left-hander smashed 39 more runs in no time.

Watch the incident here:

Gayle resumed his innings but what was delightful to see, was Kohli's gesture as he went all the way to long-off to shake hands with McCullum for his wonderful fielding effort.

During the knock, Gayle also became the first batsman in history of cricket to complete 10, 000 runs in T20 cricket.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions

Rising Pune Supergiant Vs Mumbai Indians

May 21  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians beat Rising Pune Supergiant by 1 run


May 19  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians won by 6 wickets with 33 balls remaining

IPL 2017 Points Table

Teams MP Won Lost Pts
MI 14 10 4 20
RPS 14 9 5 18
SRH 14 8 5 17
KKR 14 8 5 16
KXIP 14 7 7 14
DD 14 6 8 12
GL 14 4 10 8
RCB 14 3 10 7


1 David Warner
2 Gautam Gambhir
KKR | 498 Runs
3 Shikhar Dhawan
SRH | 479 Runs


1 Bhuvneshwar Kumar
26 Wickets
2 Jaydev Unadkat
RPS | 24 Wickets
3 Jasprit Bumrah
MI | 20 Wickets