This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Kings XI Punjab co-owner Preity Zinta gives nod to 'open player' auction in IPL 2018

Zinta also showered praise on the franchise's new coach, Virender Sehwag in her interview.

Kings XI Punjab co-owner Preity Zinta gives nod to 'open player' auction in IPL 2018

New Delhi: It is a known fact that the Indian Premier League's current 10-year contract concludes at the end of the current season, and a meg auction will be hosted ahead of the 2018 season, but does it mean all present players will be thrown in the auction pool? Well, that looks extremely likely. 

Kings XI Punjab co-owner Preity Zinta revealed what they have been communicated by the BCCI, in an interview with TOI. (IPL 2017 - Full Coverage)

"It was meant to be an open auction without retention. We have been told about it. I will welcome it if BCCI decides to go for an open auction," Zinta said.

“It doesn’t mean that I am not happy with my team. I think, we have a great team. The teams which are doing well are the ones where the young Indian players are performing,” Zinta added.

Zinta also showered praise on the franchise's new coach, Virender Sehwag, saying, “We have an unbelievable coach in Virender Sehwag. He is dynamic, helpful and extremely chilled out. He also has a super cricketing brain which makes him a very special coach,” she gushed.

Speaking about the atmosphere fans have created in the IPL this year, she said, “When we played the Mumbai game, the fans were shouting at the top of their voice when Sehwag came out on the field. The atmosphere was electric. Similarly , the fans in Mohali cheered for AB de Villiers last year. It is fun seeing how the Indian fans appreciate good cricket.”

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions

Rising Pune Supergiant Vs Mumbai Indians

May 21  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians beat Rising Pune Supergiant by 1 run


May 19  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians won by 6 wickets with 33 balls remaining

IPL 2017 Points Table

TEAMS MP Won Lost Pts
MI 14 10 4 20
RPS 14 9 5 18
SRH 14 8 5 17
KKR 14 8 5 16
KXIP 14 7 7 14
DD 14 6 8 12
GL 14 4 10 8
RCB 14 3 10 7


1 David Warner
2 Gautam Gambhir
KKR | 498 Runs
3 Shikhar Dhawan
SRH | 479 Runs


1 Bhuvneshwar Kumar
26 Wickets
2 Jaydev Unadkat
RPS | 24 Wickets
3 Jasprit Bumrah
MI | 20 Wickets