This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium (Hyderabad, Deccan)

Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium (RGICS) in Uppal after a need for a bigger ground and state-of-the-art cricketing facility arose.

Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium (Hyderabad, Deccan)

Capacity: 55,000

Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium (RGICS) in Uppal was built after a need for a bigger ground and state-of-the-art cricketing facility arose.

The Hyderabad Cricket Association (HCA) did not have complete control over the earlier venue - Lal Bahadur Shastri Stadium, which was owned by Sports Authority of Andhra Pradesh.

When built in 20014, the stadium was initially known as the Visaka International Cricket Stadium Ground. However, the state government changed that name to honour the former Prime Minister of India.

Built over 16 acres of land, the stadium boasts of commentators room, corporate boxes, exclusive room for umpires, practice area, reception lounge and state-of-the-art dressing rooms for teams

The main reception hall at the RGICS is home to memorabilia and picture galleries of those personalities who have made significant contributions to HCA.

The venue is equipped to host day-night matches as six towers with flood lights, commissioned in April 2007, illuminate the stadium.

The twin ends of this stadium are known as the pavilion end and VVS Laxman end.

The RGICS was initially home to the Deccan Chargers. Now, Sunrisers Hyderabad play their home matches in the Indian Premier League here.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions

Rising Pune Supergiant Vs Mumbai Indians

May 21  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians beat Rising Pune Supergiant by 1 run


May 19  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians won by 6 wickets with 33 balls remaining

IPL 2017 Points Table

TEAMS MP Won Lost Pts
MI 14 10 4 20
RPS 14 9 5 18
SRH 14 8 5 17
KKR 14 8 5 16
KXIP 14 7 7 14
DD 14 6 8 12
GL 14 4 10 8
RCB 14 3 10 7


1 David Warner
2 Gautam Gambhir
KKR | 498 Runs
3 Shikhar Dhawan
SRH | 479 Runs


1 Bhuvneshwar Kumar
26 Wickets
2 Jaydev Unadkat
RPS | 24 Wickets
3 Jasprit Bumrah
MI | 20 Wickets