This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Royal Challengers Bangalore rope in Harpreet Singh as replacement of injured Sarfaraz Khan

Harpreet couldn't be a part of the IPL 2017 auction after a mistaken identity cost him the opportunity.

Royal Challengers Bangalore rope in Harpreet Singh as replacement of injured Sarfaraz Khan

New Delhi: Royal Challengers' Sarfaraz Khan, who injured himself during the pre-season practice session, is finally replaced by Harpreet Singh for the rest of the Indian Premier League 2017 season.

Sarfaraz who hasn’t played a single match in this edition so far, was carried off the field on a stretcher, and was ruled out of the full season just before the start of the new campaign.

Harpreet couldn't be a part of the IPL 2017 auction and the reason couldn't have been more bizarre.

As per the reports, news agencies goofed up and mistook him for Harmeet Singh, a player who was detained and later released on bail for driving his car on Andheri Railway station platform on Monday (February 20) – the day of IPL auction.

As a result, Harpreet, the Madhya Pradesh batsman, remained unsold even though he was one of the most consistent cricketers in domestic circles.

A franchise official had then said, “We wanted to buy him, but as news came of Harpreet’s arrest, we decided not to do so since it would give the franchise a bad image. But later, when the auction got over, we came to know it was Harmeet and not Harpreet.”

Well, as the saying goes, better late than never, Harpreet has finally found a franchise and is all set to feature in the Indian Premier League Season 10.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions

Rising Pune Supergiant Vs Mumbai Indians

May 21  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians beat Rising Pune Supergiant by 1 run


May 19  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians won by 6 wickets with 33 balls remaining

IPL 2017 Points Table

Teams MP Won Lost Pts
MI 14 10 4 20
RPS 14 9 5 18
SRH 14 8 5 17
KKR 14 8 5 16
KXIP 14 7 7 14
DD 14 6 8 12
GL 14 4 10 8
RCB 14 3 10 7


1 David Warner
2 Gautam Gambhir
KKR | 498 Runs
3 Shikhar Dhawan
SRH | 479 Runs


1 Bhuvneshwar Kumar
26 Wickets
2 Jaydev Unadkat
RPS | 24 Wickets
3 Jasprit Bumrah
MI | 20 Wickets