This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Steve Smith trolls reporter after being asked if MS Dhoni will bat further up in RPS batting order

Smith also opened up on why he needed to travel to Dubai ahead of the match against Hyderabad.

Steve Smith trolls reporter after being asked if MS Dhoni will bat further up in RPS batting order

New Delhi: Rising Pune Supergiant skipper Steve Smith has had additional responsibilities of dealing with consistent questions about MS Dhoni everytime he gets to speak to journalists.

Ahead of Pune's clash with the David Warner-led Sunrisers Hyderabad, Smith answered several questions about Dhoni's poor run of form, saying he backs the former Indian captain and hopes he will come good in the matches to come.

But one of the questions from a reporter tickled Smith's funny bones when he was asked if he would like to promote Dhoni up in the batting order.

Smith jokingly counter questioned the reporter saying, “Do you want him to open the innings?”

Smith made the most of his 6-day IPL break and went to Dubai, a decision that left cricketing fraternity baffled but the Aussie batsman didn't shy away from revealing the reason behind such a trip.

"It has been going on for a while now, playing four back-to-back Tests in India and then obviously the IPL, so the idea was to get a little away from the game for a while. Everyone around the world plays so much of cricket.

"The schedule is getting busier and busier, but you get used to it and I think you have to try and make the most of the little breaks you get. For me, the six days break was about just getting away for a little bit to get refresh mentally and relax," he said during an interaction at the team hotel.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions

Rising Pune Supergiant Vs Mumbai Indians

May 21  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians beat Rising Pune Supergiant by 1 run


May 19  20:00 IST
Mumbai Indians won by 6 wickets with 33 balls remaining

IPL 2017 Points Table

TEAMS MP Won Lost Pts
MI 14 10 4 20
RPS 14 9 5 18
SRH 14 8 5 17
KKR 14 8 5 16
KXIP 14 7 7 14
DD 14 6 8 12
GL 14 4 10 8
RCB 14 3 10 7


1 David Warner
2 Gautam Gambhir
KKR | 498 Runs
3 Shikhar Dhawan
SRH | 479 Runs


1 Bhuvneshwar Kumar
26 Wickets
2 Jaydev Unadkat
RPS | 24 Wickets
3 Jasprit Bumrah
MI | 20 Wickets