Kings XI Punjab

Last Updated: Wednesday, April 5, 2017 - 12:16

The Punjab franchise, which has been a part of the Indian Premier League since its inception, has been one of the most disappointing teams in the tournament. Barring the 2014 season where they ended up being runners-up, the team has failed to do justice to the expectations of their fans.

Ahead of the tenth edition, the management made a bold move when they replaced Murali Vijay as the skipper of the team with Glenn Maxwell – someone who has played several scintillating knocks for the team in the past. The management also appointed Virender Sehwag as head of cricket operations.

It remains to be seen whether the team can win their maiden IPL season this year.

Captain: Glenn Maxwell

Coach: J Arun Kumar

Best Performance: 2014 runners-up

Squad: Glenn Maxwell, David Miller, Murali Vijay, Eion Morgan, Hashim Amla, Manan Vohra, Arman Jaffer, Martin Guptill, Shaun Marsh, Rinku Singh, Sandeep Sharma, Anureet Singh, Mohit Sharma, KC Cariappa, Swapnil Singh, Pradeep Sahu, T Natrajan, Matt Henry, Varun Aaron, Marcus Stoinis, Akshar Patel, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Rahul Tewatia, Darren Sammy, Wriddhiman Saha, Nikhil Naik.

Players to watch out for: Glenn Maxwell, Wriddhiman Saha, Akshar Patel, T Natrajan, Martin Guptill