close
This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

REVEALED: Sachin Tendulkar got out STUMPED only once in Test, all because of his India team-mate

It happened in 2001, during the third Test of India-England series at Bangalore. 

REVEALED: Sachin Tendulkar got out STUMPED only once in Test, all because of his India team-mate

New Delhi: It's a well known fact that batting great Sachin Tendulkar got out stumped only once in Test. But not many us knew the circumstances which led to his dismissal. He could have easily become few batsmen who avoided their wickets stumped.

His long time opening partner in ODIs, Virender Sehwag revealed the fascinating aspect how Tendulkar got stumped. And don't be surprise, Sehwag's ready to take blame.

While talking to Aaj Tak, Sehwag relived the moment, rather vividly.

It happened in 2001, during the third Test of India-England series at Bangalore. Tendulkar was batting 90 and all set for yet another hundred, but he was struggling against spin, at least according to Sehwag.

The Delhi batsman then thought it would be nice to advice his partner and convinced the God of Cricket to step out and play fearless. Then it happened, with James Foster completing the stumping off the bowling off Ashley Giles.

“I was stepping out and easily hitting my shots. He was mostly padding. I said there is no spin, you can charge and play. It took me 2-3 overs to convince him. The only ball that turned was the one on which he stepped out of crease and was stumped. I did not go back to dressing room that day at tea break. I sat in umpires’ room. Later was I called. Tendulkar said only once in my career I have got out stumped in Test cricket and that’s because of you,” Sehwg said.

The match ended in a draw, and India won the three match series 1-0, thanks to a 10-wicket win in the first Test at Mohali.

(With Agency Inputes)

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions