Thursday, July 31, 2014
Search  ZeeCric Google  

Australia One of the oldest Test and ODI playing nation in international cricket, Australia gave a hint of their perfect professional approach to cricket right in the beginning when they started playing Test matches with England in 1882.
Australians rule the game of cricket and have ferociously guarded their number one position in ICC rankings be it Tests or ODIs.

Australian team consists of bowling vigour of Glenn McGrath, batting zeal of Adam Gilchrist and astonishing captaincy of Ricky Ponting, making it the best cricket playing team ever. Australia’s unmatchable domestic base and an impervious bench strength always keep the playing 11 on their toes and thus comes the best out of them.

Australian cricket team’s USP is its high spirit, self confidence and never say die attitude.

The big stars

Sir Donald Bradman is universally regarded as the greatest batsman of all time. Bradman’s Test batting average of 99.94 makes him unmistakably the best batsman ever to have picked up a bat.

Currently a member of Cricket Australia selection panel, David Boon was a stocky right-handed batsman. Boon who was Australia`s most prolific run scorers was named Wisden Cricketer of the Year in the year1994.

Allan Border and Mark Taylor were the other sensations that made their mark in international arena. Australia was once, also led by the most experienced batsmen in the history of cricket Steve Waugh. Ricky Ponting is just another marvel in the league of captains that Australia got.

Shane Warne arguably Australia’s greatest cricketer after Sir Don Bradman was ranked by Wisden as one of the five best cricketers of the twentieth century.

The country had two Waughs - Steve the hardhead and Mark the artist, whose fluid strokes were poetry on field.

Highs and Lows

Champions of cricket

Australia is the only cricket team that has won all the trophies contested internationally. The last major win was that of Champions Trophy (2006), which the Australians had wanted and chased for a long time.

Australia is the only country to have won the cricket World Cup thrice. They were victorious in 1987, 1999 and 2003. Australia in recent years has held the upper hand and won The Ashes a staggering 8 times in a row from 1989 till 2005. They were finally beaten by the English cricket team (2005) by 2 wins against 1 with 2 draws. They reclaimed the Ashes in 2006-07 scripting a complete whitewash of the Poms after 86 years.

Historians consider the present run of the team to be the fifth golden era of Australian cricket, there`s been nothing to match it for duration or the number of exceptional players it`s spawned.

Over this period greatness (or something close to it) has come in pairs; it has arisen in those apparently untouched and been replicated as if by decree.

The Ashes debacle

In 2005, Australia was humbled by England in the Ashes. The series was close, Australia nearly snatching victory in both the Tests they lost.

The aboriginal killing of cricket

When Australian cricket was booming with likes of Don Bradman, there were players like Eddie Gilbert and Johnny Mullagh who became victim of aboriginal discrimination in Australia.

Eddie Gilbert who the great Sir Don Bradman termed as “unhesitatingly faster than anything” was not selected in the national team more because he was an aboriginal and less because he had a suspected arm action. This was just an example that Australian cricket in the nineteenth century was marred by discrimination and thus killing of such a budding talent.

Board– Cricket Australia
Chief Executive Officer– James Sutherland
National coach– John Buchanan
Assistant coach– Dene Hills

Team Records


Highest Team total
758-8 d Australia v West Indies Kingston 1954/55

Lowest Team total
36 Australia v England Birmingham 1902


Highest Team total
434-4 (50 overs) Australia v South Africa Johannesburg 2005/06

Lowest Team total
70 (25.2 overs) Australia v England Birmingham 1977

Contracted Players

Ricky Ponting (captain), Adam Gilchrist (vice-captain), Nathan Bracken, Stuart Clark,
Michael Clarke, Dan Cullen, Jason Gillespie, Brad Haddin, Matthew Hayden, Brad Hodge, Brad Hogg, Michael Hussey, Phil Jaques, Mitchell Johnson, Michael Kasprowicz, Simon Katich, Justin Langer, Brett Lee, Stuart MacGill, Damien Martyn,
Glenn McGrath, Andrew Symonds, Shaun Tait, Shane Warne, Shane Watson


Test Captains

Dave Gregory(1876-1879), Billy Murdoch(1880-85, 1890), Tom Horan(1884-85), Hugh Massie(1884-85), Jack Blackham (1884-85, 1891-92, 1893-95), Tup Scott (1886), Percy McDonnell(1886-88), George Giffen(1894-95), Harry Trott (1896-98), Joe Darling (1899, 1901-03, 1905), Hugh Trumble (1901-02), Monty Noble (1903-04, 1908-09), Clem Hill(1910-12), Syd Gregory(1912), Warwick Armstrong(1920-21), Herbie Collins (1921-22, 1924-25, 1926), Warren Bardsley(1926), Jack Ryder (1928-29), Bill Woodfull (1930-34), Vic Richardson( 1935-36), Don Bradman(1936-38, 1946-48), Bill Brown(1945-46), Lindsay Hassett(1949-53), Arthur Morris(1951-52, 1954-55), Ian Johnson(1954-57), Ray Lindwall (1956-57), Ian Craig( 1957-58), Rechie Benaud( 1958-63), Neil Harvey(1961), Bob Simpson (1963-67, 1977-78), Brian Booth (1965-66), Bill Lawry(1967-71), Barry Jarman (1968), Ian Chappell(1970-75), Greg Chappell (1975-77, 1979-83), Graham Yallop( 1978-79), Kim Hughes ( 1978-80, 1981, 1982-85), Allan Border(1984-94), Mark Taylor(1994-99), Steve Waugh(1998-2004), Adam Gilchrist 2000-01, 2004-05), Ricky Ponting(2003-06).

ODI Captains

Bill Lawry(1970-71), Ian Chappell(1972-75), Greg Chappell( 1975-76, 1982-83), Bob Simpson (1977-78), Graham Yallop (1978-79), Kim Hughes (1979,1984-85), David Hookes (1983), Allan Border (1984-85,1993-94), Ray Bright (1985-86), Geoff Marsh 1986-87,1990-91), Mark Taylor (1992-93,1997), Ian Healy (1996-97), Steve Waugh (1996-97,2001-02), Shane Warne (1997-98,1998-99), Adam Gilchrist (2000-01, 2005-06), Ricky Ponting 2001/2-present

Zee Cric
zee cric
Contact Us : Privacy Policy : Legal Disclaimer
Copyright © Zee News Limited. All rights reserved
zee cric