SDMC Election 2017: BJP wins big, clinches 70 out of 104 seats; PM Narendra Modi lauds teamwork, thanks voters

The BJP on Wednesday retained control over the South Delhi Municipal Corporation (SDMC), elections for which were held on April 23, by winning 70 out of total 104 seats in the South Delhi civic body as counting of votes began since morning.

SDMC Election 2017: BJP wins big, clinches 70 out of 104 seats; PM Narendra Modi lauds teamwork, thanks voters

New Delhi: The BJP on Wednesday retained control over the South Delhi Municipal Corporation (SDMC), elections for which were held on April 23, by winning 70 out of total 104 seats in the South Delhi civic body as counting of votes began since morning.

BJP had taken a strong lead as the trends/results for keenly contested elections to the three municipal corporations in the national capital - North Delhi Municipal Corporation (NDMC), East Delhi Municipal Corporation (EDMC) and South Delhi Municipal Corporation (SDMC) – started pouring in minutes after counting of votes began.  

Share your views on the SDMC elections 2017 results here-

Click here for  more updates on MCD Elections 2017

-Grateful to people of Delhi for showing faith in BJP. I laud hardwork of team BJP which made the resounding MCD win possible: PM Narendra Modi.

-Latest trends/tally: BJP leading in 70 out of 104 seats, wins 26, Congress 11, AAP 17, others 6.

-Delhi BJP chief Manoj Tiwari dedicates MCD poll victory to CRPF jawans who lost their lives in deadly Naxal attack in Sukma.   

-Latest tally: BJP wins in 26 seats, Congress 4, AAP 4.

-Trends/tally: 104/104 seats; BJP leading in 70, won 2; Congress in 13, AAP 16, while other 5.

-Ajay Maken quits as Delhi Congress chief taking moral responsibility for Congress party's rout in the MCD polls.

-BJP's victory is a proof of PM Narendra Modi's policy of inclusive growth and good governance. I thank Delhi voters and party workers for this emphatic victory in Delhi civic body polls: Amit Shah.

-BJP chief Amit Shah speaks to media in Kolkata, West Bengal on the outcome of MCD polls.

-Delhi Dy CM Manish Sisodia accepts AAP's defeat in MCD polls, accuses BJP of foul play.SDMC Election Results 2017 LIVE

-BJP's Narender Chawla has won from Janakpuri West by a margin of 1347 votes, while Veena Sharma has defeated her AAP rival by 5362 votes.

-Winning and losing is a part of democracy, one must accept mandate of the people with maturity: Nitin Gadkari, BJP.

-BJP has emerged winner because the people are disillusioned with the AAP now… I congratulate the BJP and hop that it will help make MCD better: Yogendra Yadav, Swaraj India.

-AAP can’t hook all defeats to EVMs: Kiran Walia, Congress.

-Arrogance, abusive politics and ambition are the three As why Arvind Kejriwal has lost: BJP's  Sambit Patra.

-Trends: 104/104: BJP leading in 70 seats, Congress 13, AAP 16, while others in 5.

-Poster have been put up outside BJP HQ dedicating MCD poll win to CRPF jawans who lost their lives in Sukma Naxal attack.

-BJP only viable option available to voters today and that's why BJP has been given mandate at every level; I thank voter of Delhi: Jitendra Singh, Union Minister, BJP Govt.

-Yeh Modi lehar nahi hai, EVM lehar hai: Gopal Rai, Delhi Govt minister on AAP's loss in MCD Elections 2017.

-Media contingent waits outside CM Arvind Kejriwal's residence as CM holds meeting with deputy CM Sisodia.

-BJP leaders demand Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal's resignation as ruling party appeared trailing in the MCD election vote count.

-First official results declared - BJP wins from Janakpuri West, Janakpuri East; leading in 70 out of 104 seats

-Trends: 104/104: BJP takes massive lead, ahead in 74 seats, Congress in 15, AAP 13, others 2.

-Here are some of the leading candidates in SDMC as of now:- 

Kamajit Sehrawat, BJP
Sushma, Raja Garden, BJP
Brijpal, Kotla Mubarakpur, Congress
Praveen Rana, Brijwasan,  Congress
Jugni Devi, Bapraula, JDU

-Trends: 104/104: BJP ahead in 76, Congress 15, AAP in 13

Here are the live updates of Delhi Municipal Corporation Election 2017:

-Here are the latest trends for SDMC polls.SDMC Election Results 2017 LIVE

-Trends: 104/104 seats: BJP ahead in 76, Congress in 15, AAP 13.  

-Delhi voters have shown faith in BJP, confident of clear sweep: Dr Harsh Vardhan.

-Trends available for 92/104 seats: BJP takes strong lead, ahead in 60, Congress in 19, AAP 10.

-Confident of BJP's win in civic polls, says Delhi unit chief Manoj Tiwari.

-Delhi State EC official trends for MCD polls: BJP-44, Congress-10, AAP-4, Independent-1

-Trends: 71/104: BJP ahead in 45, Congress in 19, AAP 10 while others in 3.

-Here are the latest trends available for SDMC polls.SDMC Election Results 2017 LIVE  

-Trends: 39/104; BJP ahead in 25 seats, Congress 10, AAP 1

-Trends available for 19/104 seats, BJP leading on 14 seats, AAP in 4, Congress 1  

-Trends available for 10/104 seats, BP leading in 9 seats.

-Trends begin pouring in, BJP ahead in two seats in SDMC. 

-Counting of votes for South Delhi Municipal polls begins.

Delhi Municipal Corporation Election 2017 

-Over 90,000 security personnel belonging to Delhi Police, paramilitary forces and the Home Guards will keep a watch at the counting centres. 

-Counting updates will be relayed from the centres to the Delhi State Election Commission office located in Kashmere Gate. Large screens installed there will display the updates for the media to disseminate to the public.

-Votes will be counted at 35 centres across the city. Of these, 16 will are in north Delhi, 13 in the south and six in east Delhi.

-At least two exit polls have indicated that the Bharatiya Janata Party may win the election by a landslide with AAP and Congress struggling for a distant second spot.

-The BJP, which won the last two civic polls, looks to continue its winning streak for a third consecutive term. 

-For the first time, None Of The Above (NOTA) option was made available to voters.

--Polling in two other wards - Sarai Pipal Thala and Maujpur - was put off till next month after the death of two candidates.

-The polling was held across 13,022 booths in 770 premises.

-More than 1.3 crore people, including 1.1 lakh first-time voters, cast their votes for 272 wards in the MCD polls.

-While the North and South corporations have 104 wards each, the East corporation has 64 wards.

-The elections to the three civic bodies were held on April 23. 

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link