61st National Film Awards winners - Fandry, Ship Of Theseus, Jolly LLB

Zee Media Bureau/ Aparna Mudi

New Delhi: The 61st National Awards is going to be announced on Wednesday, 16th April 2014, by the Directorate of Film Festivals. This prestigious honour is awarded to celebrate the best of Indian cinema, and many regional and mainstream movies are nominated.

Read on for live update:

Best Book on Cinema: Cinema Ga Cinema, Language: Telegu by Nandagopal
Best Film Critic: Alka Sahni

Best Feature Film in Assamese : 'Ajeyo'
Best Feature Film in Bengali : 'Bakita Byaktigoto'
Best Feature Film in Hindi : 'Jolly LLB'
Best Feature Film in Kannada : 'December 1'
Best Feature Film in Konkani : 'Baga Beach'
Best Feature Film in Malayalam : 'North 24 Kaatham'
Best Feature Film in Marathi : 'Aajcha Divas Majha'
Best Feature Film in Tamil : 'Thanga Meenkal'
Best Feature Film in Telugu : 'Naa Bangaru Talli '
Best Feature Film in English : 'The Coffin Maker'
Best Feature Film in Khasi : 'Ri'
Best Feature Film in Sherdukpen: 'The Crossing Bridges'

Best Children's Film: 'Kaphal'
Best Film on on Social Issues: 'Tuhya Dharma Koncha '(Marathi)
Best Film on Social Issues: 'Gulaabi Gang'
Nargis Dutt Award for Best film on National Intergration: 'Thalaimuraigal'(Tamil)
Best Popular Film providing Wholesome Entertainment: 'Bhaag Milkha Bhaag'
Best Feature Film: 'Ship of Theseus'
Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of A Director: 'Fandry'(Marathi)
Best Special Effects: 'Jal'

Best Screenplay Writer (Original): P. Sheshadri
Best Screenplay Writer (Adapted): Panchakshari

Best Short Fiction (Non Feature) : 'Mandrake! Mandrake!'
Best Environmental Film including Agriculture: 'Foresting Life (Hindi,Assamese)'
Special Jury Award: 'Yellow' (Marathi) & 'Miss Lovely' (Hindi)
Best Sound Design: 'Madras Cafe'
Best Non-Feature Film: 'Rangbhoomi'
Best Promotional Film:'Chasing the Rainbow' & 'Kush'

Best Choreography: Ganesh Acharya for 'Masto Ka Jhund' – Bhaag Milkha Bhaag

Bengali film 'Jaatishwar' proves to be a winner with awards for -
Best Make Up: Vikram Gaikwad for 'Jaatishwar'(Bengali)
Best Costume: Sabarni Das for 'Jaatishwar'(Bengali)

Best Music (Background): Shantanu Moitra
Best Male Playback Singer: Kabir Suman in 'Jaatishwar'(Bengali)
Best Female Playback Singer: Bela Shende for 'Tuhya Dharma Koncha '(Marathi)

Best Director Award: Pranjal Dua for 'Chidiya Ud' (Hindi)
Best Child Actor: Somnath Awghade for 'Fandry' and
Best Supporting Actor: Saurabh Shukla for 'Jolly LLB'
Best Supporting Actress: Shared by Aida Elkashef and Amruta Subhash for 'Ship of Theseus' and 'Astu' respectively.
Best Actress: Geetanjali Thapa for 'Liar's Dice'
Best Actor: Rajkumar Rao for 'Shahid', Suraj Venjaramudu and Venajaramoodu for Malayalam movie 'Perariyathavar'
Best Direction: 'Shahid'

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link