US education mission to visit India for six days

New Delhi: A U.S. education focused trade mission will visit India from October 10 to October 15.

Suresh Kumar, Assistant Secretary of Commerce and Director General of the U.S. and Foreign Commercial Service, will lead the mission, a U.S. Embassy press release said.

This mission, organized in partnership with the U.S.-India Educational Foundation (USIEF), includes representatives from 21 U.S. institutions of higher education, who will meet with Indian partners and explore opportunities.

“This trade mission reinforces the strong educational ties between India and the U.S., and advances the shared agenda underscored by the Obama-Singh 21st Century Knowledge Initiative,” Kumar said.

“The initiative promotes public-private partnerships between institutions of higher learning in both countries, helping foster economic growth and opportunity,” Kumar added.

The 21 U.S. schools on the mission, representing regionally accredited graduate programs, four-year undergraduate programs and state study consortia from more than fifteen states, are a cross-section of America’s higher educational institutions.

The mission will include student fairs and networking events in New Delhi, Chennai, and Mumbai, three of the top cities for recruiting Indian students to the United States.

Simultaneous with the trade mission, the U.S.-India Higher Education Summit will be held on October 13, 2011 in Washington, chaired by Secretary of State Hillary Clinton and Minister of Human Resource Development Kapil Sibal.

The Higher Education Summit will act as a forum for deepening linkages and cooperation and explore how government, universities, and business can collaborate to create innovative and sustained higher education partnerships between the U.S. and India.

In 2010, Indian students constituted the second largest group of international students studying in the United States, with nearly 105,000 students.

The United States, with over 4,000 accredited institutions of higher learning, can offer access to high quality education to students in a broad range of fields.

The list of participating colleges/universities are as follows: Arizona State University; Ball State University; Columbus State University; Dickinson State University; Dowling College; Georgia Southern University; Hofstra University; LeTourneau University; Life University; Long Island University; Montana State University; Savannah College of Art and Design; Southern New Hampshire University; Stevens Institute of Technology; University of Houston - Clear Lake; University of Illinois at Springfield; University of Oregon; University of Pennsylvania; University of Southern California-Viterbi School of Engineering; West Virginia University and the University of the Incarnate Word.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link