Big B receives the best actor National Award for ‘Paa’

Spicezee Bureau

Delhi: Amidst thunderous applause, President Pratibha Patil gave away the coveted 57th National Film Awards at Vigyan Bhavan in Delhi.

The highlight of the awards has been the institution of new award categories based on the recommendations of the expert committee set up under Shyam Benegal and other eminent film personalities and experts. The mandate given to the committee was to re-invent the national film awards with a view to making them more contemporary.

The cash prize for several awards in both feature films and non-feature films categories was increased in compassion of previous years. The special jury award for feature films was also raised from Rs.1,25,000 to Rs.2,00,000.

The awards for 2009 were announced in three categories - best feature film category under the chairpersonship of Ramesh Sippy, non-feature film category under the chairpersonship of Mike Pandey, and best writing on cinema under the chairpersonship of Samik Bandhopadhyay.

Following is the list of winners for the 57th National Awards:

Best actor: Amitabh Bachchan in ‘Paa’.

Best actress: Ananya Chatterjee in ‘Abohoman’.

Best supporting actor award goes to Farooq Sheikh in ‘Lahore’.

Best supporting female award goes to Arundhuti Nag for ‘Paa’.

Best feature film: ‘Kutty Srank’ (Malayalam).

Best Hindi film: ‘Paa’.

Best director award: Rituparno Ghosh for ‘Abohoman’.

Popular film for wholesome entertainment: ‘3 Idiots’.

Nargis Dutt award for film on national integration: ‘Delhi 6’.

Best film award on social issues: ‘Well Done Abba’.

Indira Gandhi award for best debut director: Sanjay Singh Puran for ‘Lahore’.

Best lyrics award goes to Swanand Kirkere for `Behti hawa sa` in `3 Idiots`.

Best music director award goes to Amit Trivedi for `Dev-D`.

Best male playback singer award goes to Rupam Islam for `Mahanagar`.

Best female playback singer award goes to Nilanjana Sarkar for `Houseful`.

Best cinematography award: Anjali Shukla

Best original screenplay: ‘Kutty Srank’.

Best dialogue: Mr Pandiraj.

Best costume designer: Jaya Kumar for ‘Kutty Srank’.

Best background score: Illayraja.

Best special effects: R Kamal Kanan.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link