Big B wins best actor National Award; ‘Kutty Srank’ is best film

Spicezee Bureau

New Delhi: The coveted 57th National Awards, which were announced by Ramesh Sippy in New Delhi today created quite a flutter with Amitabh Bachchan winning the best actor award for ‘Paa’ – his third National Award.

Following is the list of winners for the 57th National Awards:

Best actor: Amitabh Bachchan in ‘Paa’.

Best actress: Ananya Chatterjee in ‘Abohoman’.

Best supporting actor award goes to
Farooq Sheikh in ‘Lahore’.

Best supporting female award goes to Arundhuti Nag for ‘Paa’.

Best feature film: ‘Kutty Srank’ (Malayalam).

Best Hindi film: ‘Paa’.

Best director award: Rituparno Ghosh for ‘Abohoman’.

Popular film for wholesome entertainment: ‘3 Idiots’.

Nargis Dutt award for film on national integration: ‘Delhi 6’.

Best film award on social issues: ‘Well Done Abba’.

Indira Gandhi award for best debut director: Sanjay Singh Puran for ‘Lahore’.

Best lyrics award goes to Swanand Kirkere for 'Behti hawa sa' in '3 Idiots'.

Best music director award goes to Amit Trivedi for 'Dev-D'.

Best male playback singer award goes to Rupam Islam for 'Mahanagar'.

Best female playback singer award goes to Nilanjana Sarkar for 'Houseful'.

Best cinematography award: Anjali Shukla

Best original screenplay: ‘Kutty Srank’.

Best dialogue: Mr Pandiraj.

Best costume designer: Jaya Kumar for ‘Kutty Srank’.

Best background score: Illayraja.

Best special effects: R Kamal Kanan.