Sonam, Ajay nominated for Golden Kela Award

New Delhi: Sonam Kapoor and Ajay Devgn have been nominated in the worst actor category in the 4th Annual Golden Kela Awards, a spin-off of Hollywood`s Razzies awards, which recognises the worst in cinema.

While Sonam is nominated in the worst actor (female) category for ‘Mausam’, Ajay is nominated in worst actor (male) for ‘Rascals’.

Apart from Sonam, the worst actor female category also includes Deepika Padukone for ‘Aarakshan’, Kangana Ranaut for ‘Tanu Weds Manu’, ‘Rascals’ and ‘Miley Na Miley Hum’ and Nargis Fakhri for ‘Rockstar’.

Nargis has also got nominated in worst debutante category along with Chirag Paswan for ‘Miley Na Miley Hum’, Sachiin Joshi for ‘Azaan’, Tahaa Shah for ‘Luv Ka The End’, Esha Deol for ‘Tell Me O Kkhuda’.

"Generally speaking, this year`s films haven`t been all that bad - which may have been good for Indian audiences, compared to the last few years. However, our `cracked` team of researchers has dug deep to find the worst of the lot for this year," Jatin Varma, founder, Golden Kela Awards said in a statement.

The nominees for worst film include ‘Ra.One’, ‘Ready’, ‘Bodyguard’, ‘F.A.L.T.U.’, ‘Mausam’ and ‘Singham’.

Roshan Abbas, Rohan Sippy, Anubhav Sinha, Puri Jagannadh have been nominated in worst director category for ‘Always Kabhi Kabh’, ‘Dum Maaro Dum’, ‘RA.One’ and ‘Bbuddha Hoga Tera Baap’ respectively while Anees Bazmee has been nominated twice in this category for ‘Thank You’ and ‘Ready’.

There`s also a Special Awards category, which includes Lajja Award for Worst Treatment of A Serious Issue for ‘Aarakshan’, Bas Kijiye Bahut Ho Gaya Award to Pritam, Shakti Kapoor Award for Misogyny for ‘Pyaar ka Punchnama’, the F.A.L.T.U. Award for the Most Aptly Named Film – ‘F.A.L.T.U’.

However, there is another category of `Anti-Kela` awards for the films which are considered to be the saving graces of 2010. The awards are for the films that were meaningful and entertaining, while still being in the mainstream and its nominees are ‘Saheb Biwi Aur Gangster’, ‘Shaitan’ ‘Shor In The City’ and ‘Yeh Saali Zindagi’.

The awards ceremony will be hosted by Cyrus Broacha in March here.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link