3 Indian titles make it to Commonwealth Writer`s Prize shortlist

Spicezee Bureau

New Delhi: Three Indian titles, ‘Solo’ by Rana Dasgupta, ‘The Immortals’ by Amit Chaudhuri, , ‘Arzee the Dwarf’ by Chandrahas Choudhury have made it to the Commonwealth Writer`s Prize shortlist.

Out of the three short listed titles, ‘Solo’ and ‘Arzee the Dwarf’ have been published by Harper Collins.

Rana Dasgupta and Amit Chaudhuri’s books have been short listed in the Best Book Category while Chandrahas Choudhury’s book is in the Best First Book Category.

The highly esteemed literary award is presented by the Commonwealth Foundation with support from the Macquarie Group Foundation.

It is reported that the finalists from the different regions of the Commonwealth will be brought together in Delhi from 7th April, and two overall winners will be announced on 12th April.

Director of the Commonwealth Foundation, Mark Collins, said, "The Commonwealth Writers` Prize is distinct and unique in that the books that win often have strong insight, spirit and voice about the incredible diversity, history and society of the Commonwealth. The Prize aims to reward the best of Commonwealth fiction written in English and in doing so, spots rising talent and creates new literary figures from the Commonwealth. This is the Prize to watch for tomorrow`s bestsellers."

Here is the short list in full:

South Asia and Europe

Best Book:
Solo by Rana Dasgupta (Fourth Estate (Britain)
For Pepper and Christ: A Novel by Keki Daruwalla (India)
The Beijing of Possibilities by Jonathan Tel (Britain)
Heartland by Anthony Catwright (Britain)
Another Gulmohar Tree by Aamer Hussein (Pakistan)
The Immortals by Amit Chaudhuri (India)

Best First Book:
The Hungry Ghosts by Anne Berry (Britain)
Arzee the Dwarf by Chandrahas Choudhury (India)
In Other Rooms, Other Wonders by Daniyal Mueenuddin (Pakistan)
Among Thieves by Mez Packer (Britain)
An Equal Stillness by Francesca Kay (Britain)
Tail of the Blue Bird by Nii Parkes (Britain)


Best Book:
Trespass by Dawn Garisch (South Africa)
The Double Crown by Marié Heese (South Africa)
The Thing Around Your Neck by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (Nigeria)
Eyo by Abidemi Sanusi (Nigeria)
Tsamma Season by Rosemund Handler (South Africa)
Refuge by Andrew Brown (South Africa)
Kings of the Water by Mark Behr (South Africa)

Best First Book:
I Do Not Come to You by Chance by Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani (Nigeria)
The Shape of Him by Gill Schierhout (South Africa)
The Shadow of a Smile by Kachi Ozumba (Nigeria)
Come Sunday by Isla Morley (South Africa)
Sleepers Wake by Alistair Morgan (South Africa)
Jelly Dog Days by Erica Emdon (South Africa)
Harmattan Rain by Aysha Harunna Attah (Ghana)

Caribbean and Canada

Best Book:
The Winter Vault by Anne Michaels (Canada)
February by Lisa Moore (Canada)
Euphoria by Connie Gault (Canada)
Goya`s Dog by Damian Tarnopolsky (Canada)
Galore by Michael Crummey (Canada)
The Golden Mean by Annabel Lyon (Canada)

Best First Book:
Under this Unbroken Sky by Shandi Mitchell (Canada)
Daniel O`Thunder by Ian Weir (Canada)
The Island Quintet: Five Stories by Raymond Ramchartiar (Trinidad)
Diary of Interrupted Days by Dragan Todorovic (Canada)
The Briss by Michael Tregebov (Canada)
Amphibian by Carla Gunn (Canada)

South East Asia and Pacific
Best Book:
Summertime by J M Coetzee (Australia)
A Good Land by Nada Awar Jarrar (Australia)
The Adventures of Vela by Albert Wendt (Samoa)
Singularity by Charlotte Grimshaw (New Zealand)
The People`s Train by Thomas Keneally (Australia)
Parrot and Oliver in America by Peter Carey (Australia)

Best First Book:
The Ice Age by Kirsten Reed (Australia)
After the fire, a still small voice by Evie Wyld (Australia)
Look Who`s Morphing by Tom Cho (Australia)
Document Z by Andrew Croome (Australia)
Come Inside by Glenys Osborne (Australia)
Siddon Rock by Glenda Guest (Australia)