Noted poet, Booker judge on DSC literature prize panel

New Delhi: The DSC Prize for South Asian Literature Friday announced the induction of five new members to its advisory committee for the 2013 and 2014 editions of the $50,000 prize.

In a statement, the DSC Group said noted Indian poet Arvind Krishna Mehrotra, Booker Prize jury member Alastair Niven, author and South Asian literary expert Fakrul Alam, translator, editor and author Ira Pande and American author and journalist Marie Brenner have joined existing members William Dalrymple, David Godwin, Michael Worton and Surina Narula on the committee.

The prize, instituted in 2011, have honoured Pakistani novelist H.M. Naqvi ("Home Boy") and Sri Lankan writer Shehan Karunatilaka ("Chinaman: The Legend of Pradeep Mathew").

The new advisory committee will also recommend the appointment of the prize jury. The names will be announced in May.

The organisers have invited entries from publishers for the 2013 edition of the prize which is open to authors across the globe writing about South Asia.

The call for entries will remain open till June 15 for works of English fiction, including translations, published between Jan 1, 2011, and April 30, 2012.

The winner`s name will be announced in January 2013 at the Jaipur Literature Festival.