This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Salman Rushdie to be awarded with 2014 Andersen literature award

Last Updated: Friday, June 14, 2013 - 20:05

Zee Media Bureau

New Delhi: Indian-origin British writer Salman Rushdie – who penned ‘Midnight’s Children’ - has been announced as the winner of the 2014 Hans Christian Andersen Litteraturpris. The award is given every two years to writers recognized for sharing Andersen`s “love of the narrative art of the fairytale”.

The winners of this precious award – which is being given since 2010 - include Paulo Coelho , ‘Harry Potter’ author J.K. Rowling and ‘City of the Beasts’ writer Isabel Allende.

“Sir Salman Rushdie receives this award due to the fact that he is an incomparable author, who through a blend of global realism and fairytale fantasy depicts the significance of journeys and cultural meetings for our time,” a leading daily quoted the HCAL`s statement as saying.

The prize fund – which stands at 50,000 Danish krone ($9,000) – is Denmark`s biggest literature prize, though half of the kr1,000,000 Sonning Prize, which is a more general arts prize with European scope, is named after fellow Danish author Carl Johan Sonning.

Apart from Hans Christian Andersen Litteraturpris, Rushdie has also received an honour from the Queen of England - an OBE and Knighthood - and has also been admitted to the Ordre des Arts et des Lettres by the French Ministry of Culture.

The ceremony is not to take place until August 17, 2014, coinciding with the H.C. Andersen Festivals in Odense.

First Published: Friday, June 14, 2013 - 20:05

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus