This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Ian nominated for UK comic fiction award

London: British novelist Ian McEwan was a surprise inclusion on the shortlist for this year`s Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize for Comic Fiction, billed as Britain`s only award in the category.

McEwan, not normally considered a comic writer, was nominated for "Solar," which tackles the issue of climate change. The Times newspaper described the book as "a comedy every bit as brilliant as its title might suggest."

The other four nominees are Paul Murray ("Skippy Dies"), Tiffany Murray ("Diamond Star Halo"), David Nicholls ("One Day") and Malcolm Pryce ("From Aberystwyth With Love").

The winner of the award will be announced at the Hay literary festival in late May.

Previous winners of the award, named after the author P.G. Wodehouse, include Will Self and DBC Pierre.

Bureau Report


From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions