`The Tree of Life` wins 2011 Golden Palm at Cannes

Updated: May 23, 2011, 10:21 AM IST

Cannes: American director Terrence Malick`s `The Tree of Life`, starring Brad Pitt, Sean Penn and Jessica Chastain, has won the 2011 Golden Palm (Palme d`Or), the most prestigious award at the 64th Cannes International Film Festival that ended Sunday night, Xinhua reported.

The movie`s story goes back to the 1950s and features the life of the eldest son of a family who tries to find answers to the meaning of life and the relationship with God.

Malick said he conceived the script for 30 years before realising it through the movie that reflects a life in two hours and 18 minutes.

Bill Pohlad, producer of the film, represented the film-making team on stage.

"Tonight I have to take the place of a giant. Terrence Malick is very shy and discreet. `The Tree Of Life` was a long journey, but it was all worth it. I would like to thank especially the Festival de Cannes," Pohlad said after receiving the prize from actress Jane Fonda.

The Best Director Award went to Denmark film-maker Nicholas Winding Refn for "Drive" - a story about a Hollywood stunt driver.

American actress Kirsten Dunst took home the Best Actress Award for "Melancholia".

Jean Dujardin, a 39 years-old French actor, won the Best Actor Award for "The Artist" - a film that pays homage to the era of silent movies.

The Jury Prize went to French director Maiwenn for her film " Polisse" and the Grand Prize was shared by films "Bir Zamanlar Anadolu`da" ("Once upon a time in Anatolia") by Nuri Bilge Ceylan and "Le Gamin au Velo" ("The Kid with a Bike") by Jean-Pierre et Luc Dardenne.

The Cannes film festival began May 11. A total of 21 movies were in the competition for the Golden Palm.

Here's the liest of winners:

Palme D’Or

The Tree of Life by Terrence Malick

Grand Prix

Bir Zamanlar Anadolu’da (Once Upon A Time In Anatolia) by Nuri Bilge Ceylan

The Kid With a Bike by Jean-Pierre & Luc Dardenne

Award for Best Director

Nicolas Winding Refn for Drive

Jury Prize

Poliss by Maiwenn

Award for Best Actor

Jean Dujardin in The Artist

Award for Best Actress

Kirsten Dunst in Melancholia

Award for Best Screenplay

Joseph Cedar for Footnote

Un Certain Regard Prize

Arirang by Kim Ki-Duk

Halt Auf Freier Strecke (Stopped on Track) by Andreas Dresen

UCR Special Jury Prize

Elena by Andrey Zvyagintsev

UCR Directing Prize

Be Omid É Didar (Au revoir) by Mohammad Rasoulof

Short Films

Palme d’Or

Cross-Country by Maryna Vroda

Jury Prize

Badpakje 46 (Swimsuit 46) by Wannes Destoop

Camera d’Or

Las Acacias by Pablo Giorgelli presented during Critics’ Week


First Prize: Der Brief (The Letter) by Doroteya Droumeva

Second Prize: Drari by Kamal Lazraq

Third Prize: Ya-Gan-Bi-Hang (Fly by Night) by Son Tae-gyum