Aamir Khan felicitated as ‘Maharashtrian of the Year’

Updated: Mar 25, 2011, 18:20 PM IST

Spicezee Bureau

Mumbai: Bollywood actor Aamir Khan and Maharashtra home minister RR Patil were felicitated with ‘Maharashtrian of the Year’ award by leading Marathi daily Lokmat recently.

Aamir received the award in the entertainment category while RR Patil was nominated in the political category. Other recipient of the award included Kalpana Joshi, Sanjay Gaikwad (industry), Kavita Raut (sports), Bhagwan Rampure (arts), Dr Ravindra Kolhe and Smita Kolhe (social service).

Speaking on the august occasion, Maharashtra CM Prithviraj Chavan said, “Democratic systems and free media are true strengths of the state”. Delivering the welcome speech, Lokmat director and Rajya Sabha MP, Vijay Darda, voiced concerns about slow industrial progress rate, malnutrition, and farmers’ suicide among other aspects plaguing society.

The event turned out to be a social cause where Global Advertisers’ Sanjeev Gupta donated a sum for an adivasi (tribal) community clinic.

The jury members included former High Court judge BN Deshmukh, Anna Hazare, Dr Raghunath Mashelkar, Gulzar, Lila Poonawala, Dilip Vengsarkar and Rajdeep Sardesai. The event was also graced by Union Sports Minister Ajay Maken, state education minister Rajendra Darda, actors Jeetandra and Jackie Shroff and industrialist Gautam Singhania.