Angelina Jolie, Steve Martin and others to receive The Academy`s Governors Awards

Beverly Hills, California: The Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences will present Honorary Awards to Angela Lansbury, Steve Martin and Piero Tosi, and the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award to Angelina Jolie. All four awards will be presented at the Academy’s 5th Annual Governors Awards on Saturday, November 16, at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland Center.

“The Governors Awards pay tribute to individuals who’ve made indelible contributions in their respective fields,” said Academy President Cheryl Boone Isaacs. “We couldn’t be more excited for this year’s honorees and look forward to bringing their peers and colleagues together to celebrate their extraordinary achievements.”

Martin, who got his start in television, is a versatile actor, writer, comedian and musician who began to display the breadth of his big-screen talent as the screenwriter and star of the 1977 Oscar nominated short film `The Absent-Minded Waiter.` He wrote and starred in `Three Amigos`, `Roxanne` `The Pink Panther` series and `Shopgirl` which he adapted from his critically acclaimed book of the same name.

He also is a three-time host of the Oscars, most recently in 2010 with Alec Baldwin.

Jolie, who won an Oscar for her supporting performance in `Girl, Interrupted,` has been an impassioned advocate for humanitarian causes, traveling widely to promote organizations and social justice efforts such as the Prevent Sexual Violence Initiative. Her dedication to these causes has also shaped her work in films that tackle global humanitarian issues including `A Mighty Heart` and her feature film directorial debut `In the Land of Blood and Honey.`

The Honorary Award, an Oscar statuette, is given “to honor extraordinary distinction in lifetime achievement, exceptional contributions to the state of motion picture arts and sciences, or for outstanding service to the Academy.”

The Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, also an Oscar statuette, is given “to an individual in the motion picture industry whose humanitarian efforts have brought credit to the industry.”