Motion picture academy invites 135 new members

Beverly Hills: Adam Sandler, Bono and James Gandolfini are among 135 people invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Also on the list announced Friday are several Oscar winners from this year, including Mo`Nique, best supporting actress for ‘Precious: Based on the Novel `Push` by Sapphire,`’ Christoph Waltz, best supporting actor for ‘Inglourious Basterds,’ and Mark Boal, writer and producer of ‘The Hurt Locker.’

The list also includes previous nominees such as Carey Mulligan, Anna Kendrick, Vera Farmiga, and ‘District 9’ writers Neill Blomkamp and Terri Tatchell.

Documentary makers Davis Guggenheim, who won for ‘An Inconvenient Truth,’ and Morgan Spurlock also are listed.

They`ll all be honoured at a reception in September.

Bureau Report


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link