Shah Rukh and Kajol grab the top spot at 56th Filmfare Awards

Spicezee Bureau

Mumbai: Shah Rukh Khan and Kajol were named winners of the Best Actor and Best Actress category respectively at the 56th Filmfare Awards. The starry evening saw industry heavyweights come together to make the evening one of the most cherished and wonderful extravaganzas of the year.

Low budget film ‘Udaan’ made the most of the event by winning as many as eight awards, while Salman Khan starrer ‘Dabangg’ was voted the Best Film of the year.

Critics chose veteran actor Rishi Kapoor for the Best Actor Critics category for the film ‘Do Dooni Chaar’ while ‘Ishqiya’ star Vidya Balan bagged the Best Actress award in the same category.

Here’s the list of winners of the 56th Filmfare Awards:

Best Actor Popular - Shah Rukh Khan (My Name is Khan)

Best Actress Popular - Kajol (My Name is Khan)

Best Film - Dabangg

Best Director - Karan Johar (My Name is Khan)

Best Actor Male Critics - Rishi Kapoor (Do Dooni Chaar)

Best Actor Female Critics - Vidya Balan (Ishqiya)

Best Film (Critics) - Udaan

Best Debut Director - Maneesh Sharma (Band Baaja Baraat)

Best Sensational Debut Male - Ranveer Singh (Band Bajaa Baaraat)

Best Sensational Debut Female - Sonakshi Sinha (Dabangg)

Best Playback Singer (Female) - Mamta Sharma (Munni Badnaam) and Sunidhi Chauhan (Sheila Ki Jawaani)

Best Playback Singer (Male) - Rahat Fateh Ali Khan (Dil Toh Baccha Hai Ji)

Best Actor In a Supporting Role (Male) - Ronit Roy (Udaan)

Best Actor In a Supporting Role (Female) - Kareena Kapoor (We Are Family)

Best Music - Sajid-Wajid and Lalit Pandit (Dabangg)

Best Lyrics - Gulzar (Dil Toh Baccha Hai Ji)

Best Story - Anurag Kashyap and Vikramaditya Motwane (Udaan)
Best Screenplay - Vikramaditya Motwane and Anurag Kashyap (Udaan)

Filmfare Technical Awards:

Best Editing - Namrata Rao (Love,Sex aur Dhokha)

Best Costume - Varsha Shilpa (Do Dooni Chaar)

Best Choreography: Farah Khan for `Sheila Ki Jawani` from ‘Tees Maar Khan’

Best Dialogue : Habib Faisal for Do Dooni Chaar

Best Background Music: Amit Trivedi for Udaan

Best Action Director: Vijayan Master for Dabbang

Best Cinematography: Mahendra Shetty for Udaan

Best Production Design Award : Mukund Gupta for `Do Dooni Chaar`

Best Sound Design Award: Pritam Das for `Love Sex Aur Dhoka` and Kunal Sharma for `Udaan`