Mira Nair`s ‘The Reluctant Fundamentalist’ wins the Indian Cinema Centenary Award at IFFI 2012

Last Updated: Wednesday, December 5, 2012 - 18:01

Zeenews Bureau

New Delhi: Mira Nair`s, ‘The Reluctant Fundamentalist’, a unanimous choice of the Jury members, was awarded with the first Centenary Award and presented with a Silver Peacock, a certificate and a cash prize of Rs 10 lakh at this year`s International Film Festival of India (IFFI). Mira Nair`s, ‘The Reluctant Fundamentalist’, was also the closing film that brought down the curtains at the 43rd International Film Festival of India, Goa.

‘The Reluctant Fundamentalist’ is a touching and engaging story of a young man chasing corporate success on Wall Street. Post September 2011 tragedy in America, he finds himself embroiled in a conflict between his American Dream, a hostage crisis, and the enduring call of his family`s homeland.

It is based on the bestselling novel by Mohsin Hamid. The film was shot in Lahore, Istanbul, New York, Atlanta, Delhi and stars Kate Hudson, Kiefer Sutherland, Liev Schrieber, Riz Ahmed, Shabana Azmi and Om Puri.

Commenting on the achievement, director Mira Nair said, “As a child of the hundred years of Indian cinema, and as its perpetual student, to be given this first Centenary Award is a huge honour. The Reluctant Fundamentalist is a global film, but its heartbeat is fierce desi. Shukhriya!”

Together with our exhibition partners, we have built a unique, incremental distribution platform over the last 12 years at PVR Pictures." said Sanjeev Kumar Bijli, Joint MD, PVR Limited. "It`s an honour to be distributing ‘The Reluctant Fundamentalist’ in India and we are thankful to Mira for trusting us with her film. We are very excited about the films prospects in India and are keenly looking forward to its theatrical release"

The Reluctant Fundamentalist is slated for an April 2013 release in India.

First Published: Wednesday, December 5, 2012 - 18:01

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus
Party Won Trends Swing
BJP 122 122 76
SHS 63 63 19
INC 42 42 -40
NCP 41 41 -21
MNS 1 1 -12
OTH 19 19 -22
Party wise Trends/Tally | Key Candidates | Vote Share
Constituency Wise Results Interactive Map
Party Won Trends Swing
BJP 47 47 43
INLD 19 19 -12
INC 15 15 -25
HJCBL 2 2 -4
OTH 7 7 -2
Party wise Trends/Tally | Key Candidates | Vote Share
Constituency Wise Results Interactive Map