`Breaking Bad`, `Modern Family` win top awards at Emmys

Updated: Sep 23, 2013, 16:06 PM IST

Los Angeles: Television crime saga `Breaking Bad` won its first Emmy award in the drama series while `Modern Family` won its fourth consecutive trophy in the comedy category at the 65th Emmy Awards here.

`Breaking bad`, which is set to end soon, earned its long due Emmy by besting competition from `Mad Men`, `Home Land`, `House of Cards`, `Game of Thrones` and `Downton Abbey` in a tightly contested category.

It was an unbelievable moment for executive producer Vince Gilligan.

"I did not see this coming," Gilligan said.

`Modern Family` retained its crown by beating `30 Rock`, `Girls`, `Louie`, `The Big Bang Theory` and `Veep` in the comedy series. The awards took place on Sunday at the LA`s Nokia Theatre.

Jeff Daniels won the annual outstanding actor in a drama award for his role as Will McAvoy in `The Newsroom` while seeing off competition from Bryan Cranston of `Breaking Bad`, Kevin Spacey `House Of Cards`, Damian Lewis `Homeland`, Hugh Bonneville `Downton Abbey` and Jon Hamm `Mad Men`.

Claire Danes won her second outstanding actress in a drama category Emmy as Carrie Mathison in `Homeland` and paid tribute to the series` writer Henry Bromell, who died last March and who received a writing Emmy posthumously.

Danes bested Elisabeth Moss `Mad Men`, Michelle Dockery `Downton Abbey`, Vera Farmiga `Bates Motel`, `Kerry Washington `Scandal`, Robin Wright `House Of Cards` and Connie Britton `Nashville` to win the trophy.

Supporting honours in the drama category went to Anna Gunn for `Breaking Bad` and Bobby Cannavale for `Boardwalk Empire`.

Outstanding directing for a drama series went to `The
Fight Club` director David Fincher for `House of Cards` while writing trophy was given to Henry Bromell for Showtime`s `Homeland`.

Jim Parsons of `The Big Bang Theory` won his third lead comedy acting Emmy after 2010 and 2011 while Julia Louis-Dreyfus won her second consecutive lead comedy actress Emmy for `Veep`.

Supporting trophies in a comedy series went to Merritt Wever for `Nurse Jackie` and Tony Hale for `Veep`.

Tina Fey won the outstanding writing for a comedy series award for `30 Rock` and Gail Mancuso for directing `Modern Family`

Actor Michael Douglas beat formidable rivals like Al Pacino `Phil Spector, Toby Jones `The Girl`, Benedict Cumberbatch `Parade`s End` and his `Behind The Candelabra` co-star Matt Damon to win in the outstanding lead actor in a miniseries or a movie category for his role of Liberace.

"You deserve half of this. So you want the bottom or the top?," Douglas told Damon, who was sitting in the audience. Damon played his gay lover in the movie.

`Behind the Candelabra` also nabbed outstanding miniseries or movie trophy and directing honour for Steven Soderbergh.
Laura Linney won the outstanding lead actress in a miniseries or a movie for `The Big C: Hereafter` while writing Emmy went to Abi Morgan for `The Hour`.

Derek Hough won an Emmy for outstanding choreography for `Dancing With The Stars` and Heidi Klum was adjudged the best host for her fashion reality show `Project Runway`.

Singing reality show `The Voice` was named the best reality show.

Other winner were `The Colbert Report` in the outstanding variety series while Don Roy King of `Saturday Night Live` won his fourth consecutive Emmy for variety series directing.