`Band Baaja Baaraat` wins three IIFA awards

Toronto: Maneesh Sharma`s `Band Baaja Baaraat` won three IIFA awards Friday night as Sonu Nigam joined Jermaine Jackson, elder brother of the late Michael Jackson, to pay a moving musical tribute to the legend at the International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) Awards here.

In fact, Nigam`s `Thank you for the legacy` on the second death anniversary of the `King of Pop` set the stage for the IIFA Rocks show in the city`s ultra-modern Ricoh Coliseum, jampacked with more than 25,000 people.

"I want to say how much I love you, because I see Michael in each one of you,`` said Jermaine, the former Jackson 5 singer, as he ended the soulful song with Nigam.

Nigam said he wrote the song after the death of the legend, and thanked Jermaine for joining him in singing it just a day before the second anniversary of Michael Jackson`s death.

"Insha Allah, hopefully very soon,`` said Jackson earlier on the green carpet when asked whether he would ever perform in Bollywood.

Friday night`s IIFA Rocks music-cum-fashion show lived up to its hype as virtually the whole of Bollywood, including Shah Rukh Khan, descended on the Coliseum to entertain Toronto.

The four-hour-long IIFA Rocks show - conducted by Karan Johar and Anushka Sharma - unleashed a fusion of music, fashion and dance as awards were announced in various categories.

Dia Mirza cast her spell with her stunning dance medley of hit numbers such as `Pyar Do, Pyar Lo,` `Parda Hai Parda,` and `Aapka Kya Hoga.`

Mallika Sherawat gave a performance of `Arabian Nights.`

Sonu Nogam returned to the stage to wow the audience with his `cocktail of qawwali and rock`. The Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy musical trio carried the night show through.

Namrata Rao won the IIFA award for editing, Naharika Khan for costume and Vijay Dayal for best song `Ainvayi ainvayi` in `Band Baaja Baaraat`.

Pritam Das for best sound recording in `Love, Sex aur Dhokha`, Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy for background score in `My Name in Khan`, Leslie Fernandes for re-recording in `Dabanng`, and Sudeep Chatterjee for cinematography in `Guzaarish`.

Sabu Cyril won the award for art direction in `Robot`, which also won the IIFA awards for special effects and make-up.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link