ICC World Twenty20: Winners of previous five editions

Updated: Mar 15, 2016, 17:38 PM IST

Since its inception in 2007, five editions of ICC World Twenty20 have been played so far. While India won the inaugural edition under MS Dhoni, Sri Lanka are the defending champions after they defeated India in 2014 final.

Here are the winners of all the editions:


MS Dhoni led India brilliantly throughout the series and in the final, India defeated Pakistan in the most thrilling manner.

Batting first, India scored 157 runs. Gautam Gambhir played a brilliant 75-run knock while Umar Gul picked three wickets for Pakistan.

In reply, Pakistan were wobbling at 104/7 at the end of 16 overs. Misbah began his assault in the 17th over, where he smashed Harbhajan Singh for three sixes. Misbah continued to deliver big hits and 13 runs were required off the final six balls with him looking to steer Pakistan to a sensational win.

Dhoni threw the ball at Joginder Sharma, Misbah hit a six off his second ball and scooped the next towards short-leg where Sreesanth held on to a good catch under pressure.

India won the match by 5 runs and it was the perfect platform to promote T20 cricket in India.


Sangakkara won the toss and decided to bat first, a decision which back fired as the Lankans were left in dire straits at 6/70 after 13 overs. Abdul Razzak ripped through the top-order with a three-wicket haul.

Sanga, along with Angelo Mathews resurrected the innings and took the team to a respectable total of 138 runs after 20 overs. Sanga remained unbeaten on 64 while Mathews remained not out on 35.

In reply, Kamran Akmal and Shahzaib Hasan provided a solid 48-run stand for the opening wicket. After the openers were back to pavilion with 63 runs on board, skipper Shahid Afridi joined the party with Shoaib Malik and stitched a match-winning unbeaten 76-run stand for third wicket.

Afridi, who scored 51 runs against South Africa in the semis, backed it up with another brilliant fifty to guide Pakistan to their maiden World T20 title.

2010 (ENGLAND)

Paul Collingwood-led England won the first ICC trophy by winning the World Twenty20 against Australia.

Batting first, Australia got off to a disastrous start with three batsmen being dismissed for just 8 runs, post which David Hussey (59) stitched two partnerships of 37 runs and 50 runs respectively with Michael Clarke (27) and Cameron White (59). Australia could never recover from the early loss and could score just 147 runs.

In reply, after losing Michael Lumb's wicket early in the innings, Kieswetter (63) and Kevin Pietersen (47) added a match-winning 111-run stand for the second wicket. The partnership came against an attack comprising Dirk Nannes, Shaun Tait, Mitchell Johnson and Shane Watson.


West Indies were touted to be the favorites to win the tournament and they deservedly reached the final.

But the Darren Sammy-led side got off to a disastrous start as Mathews removed Johnson Charles in the first over of the innings. To make matters worse, Chris Gayle was back in the hut in the sixth over, after a scratchy 16-ball 3. Runs dried up for the Windies and the scoreboard read 32/2 after 10 overs.

Samuels, batting on 26, changed gears in the 13th over, where he took chose Lasith Malinga, the best bowler in the format, to begin his onslaught. Samuels slapped three sixes off Malinga's second over and hit him for two more sixes and a boundary in his third. After he was dismissed for 78, Sammy's 15-ball 26 took West Indies to a total of 137 runs.

The momentum was with the West Indies, and their bowlers capitalized it as Sri Lankan batsmen looked all at sea chasing the paltry total. Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara added crucial 42 runs for the second wicket, but once the latter was dismissed by Samuel Badree for 22, the middle-order collapsed like a pack of cards and Sri Lankan were bowled out for 101 in 18.4 overs.

It was Sri Lanka's second loss in the finals of ICC World Twenty20.

2014 (SRI LANKA)

Malinga invited the Men in Blue to bat first after winning toss.

Angelo Mathews dismissed Ajinkya Rahane in the second over post which Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli added 60 runs for the second wicket. These two were playing some delightful strokes before Rangana Herath struck in the 11th over to scalp Rohit for 29.

While Kohli continued to find boundaries, surprisingly, Yuvraj Singh played an unusual innings where he failed to time the ball at all. By the end of 15 overs, India were 95/2 and the fans were praying for Yuvraj to find his rhythm.

That was not to be and Yuvi's 21-ball 11 put the Sri Lankans on top. Lankans conceded no boundaries in the last four overs, a period where Kohli got just four balls to play. India's 130 was a below par total.

Defending the paltry total, Mohit Sharma got a much-needed breakthrough in the second over, which was followed by a 36-run partnership between Tillakaratnne Dilshan and Mahela Jayawardene. Ashwin broke the stand and Indian spinners picked few more wickets as the scoreboard read 78/4. But that was the end of India's celebrations as Kumar Sangakkara (52) and Thisara Perera (23) scored the required runs without further damage.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link