Gurugram municipal polls: Independents bag 21 seats, BJP 13, INLD 1

Over 5.5 lakh people were eligible voters. 

Gurugram municipal polls: Independents bag 21 seats, BJP 13, INLD 1

Gurugram: Thirteen BJP, 21 independents and 1 INLD candidate emerged victorious in the Gurugram Municipal Corporation elections held on Sunday.

A total of 202 candidates were in the fray for 35 wards. The turnout recorded at 1 pm was 27 percent, but it picked up as the day progressed.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) bagged 13 seats, the independent candidates grabbed 21 and the Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) secured 1 seat in the civic elections, ANI reported.  

There are a total 5,58,884 voters in Gurgaon out of which 2,76,420 cast their votes at 546 polling booths.

Significantly, 15 of the 35 candidates who emerged victorious today were women.

Polling for the urban local body began at 7 am today and concluded at 5 pm. The counting of votes ended around 8 pm after which the results were declared.

While independents bagged the lion's share, the BJP could get just 13 seats. The party had contested all the 35 seats. Opposition party Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) managed to clinch one seat.

Soon after the result was declared, Haryana PWD minister Rao Narbir Singh said that several independent candidates who have won would support the BJP.

The mayor would be from the BJP, he said.

State Congress chief Ashok Tanwar, however, claimed that the results signified a rejection of both the BJP and the INLD.

"The results are a clear indication that if the Congress had contested on its symbol, the party would have won 25-30 seats and would have got the mayor's post as well," Tanwar claimed.
Of the independents who won, three were supported by the Congress while two were backed by the INLD.

Of the 15 women candidates who were elected, 10 were independents, while five were from the BJP. This is for the first time that so many women have emerged in Gurgaon civic body polls, officials said.

During the polling today, there were reports of minor skirmishes, the police said adding that two persons were arrested on charges of attempting to vote on fake voter IDs.

Like the previous elections in 2011, polling in urban areas was less as compared to the rural parts.

The highest voter turnout was at the Kherki Daula senior secondary school where 681 out of 796 voters cast their votes.

Among the victorious candidates were Mithlesh Barwal (Ind) from ward 1, Shakuntala Devi (BJP) from ward 2, Ravinder Yadav (BJP) from ward 3, Birendra (INLD) from ward 4, Dimple Yadav (BJP) from ward 5, Naresh Sherawat (Ind) from ward 6, Madhu Azad (BJP) from ward 7, Dinesh Saini (Ind) from ward 8, Pramila Kablan (Ind) from ward 9, Hemant Kumar Sain (Ind) from ward 28.

Among others, Sunita Yadav (Ind) won from ward 22, Seema Pahuja (Ind) from ward 15. While Naveen Dhaiya (Ind) won from ward 12. 

(With agency inputs)

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link