This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

22-man hockey squad picked for Canda tour

Last Updated: Wednesday, September 30, 2009 - 15:10

New Delhi: The newly formed national hockey
selection committee today announced a 22-strong squad, sans a
fixed captain, for an away seven-match Test series against
Canada from next month.

Interestingly, the committee has not named any captain
for the exposure trip and captaincy will rotate during the
October 2-25 tour.

Sandeep Singh had led the Indian team to its 12-Test
European tour recently.

The Canada tour will kick off on October 9 and will
culminate on October 24.

"This tour is part of Hockey India`s effort to provide
comprehensive practice ahead of the Champions Challenge I
Tournament at Salta, Argentina in December and further build
up for the World Cup at New Delhi in February – March next
year," a press release said.

Canada is currently ranked 11th in the FIH World Ranking
one position ahead of India.

The Sqaud:

Goalkeepers: Adrian D`Souza and Sreejesh PR.
Defenders : Sandeep Singh, V Raghunath, Sardar Singh
Midfeilders: Gurbaj Singh, Vikram Pillay, Dhananjay
Mahadik, Dharamvir Singh, Birendar Lakra Sr. and Danish

Forwards: Bharat Chikara, Arjun Halappa, Tushar
Khandker, Rajpal Singh, Gurvinder Singh Chandi, Prabhjot Singh
S V Sunil, Shivendra Singh, Sarwanjit Singh, Roshan Minz, Amir

Standbys : Mandip Antil, Birendra Lakra Jr., Bharat
Chetri, V S Vinaya, Ajitesh Roy.

The Match Schedule:

1st Test October 9th Victoria
2nd Test October 11th Victoria
3rd Test October 14th Vancouver
4th Test October 16th Vancouver
5th Test October 18th Vancouver
6th Test October 22nd Vancouver
7th Test October 24th Vancouver.

Bureau Report

First Published: Wednesday, September 30, 2009 - 15:10
comments powered by Disqus