Afghan Parliamentary Elections: A Snapshot

Afghans will cast their ballots on Sept 18 to elect 249 members to the Wolesi Jirga.

Country: Afghanistan

Official name: Islamic Republic of Afghanistan

Election type: Parliamentary

Poll date: September 18, 2010

Number of seats: 249, of which 68 are to be filled by women

Candidates: 2,556, of whom 406 are women

Eligible voters: 12.5 million (estimate)

Polling centres: 5,897 polling centres with 18,000 voting booths

Results: Independent Election Commission plans to release the outcome on October 30

Compiled by: Kamna Arora