This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

After 100 days of UPA-2, 11 ministers still homeless: The Times of India

Last Updated: Saturday, September 12, 2009 - 09:49

New Delhi: Even after 100 days of UPA-2, 11 ministers are still awaiting their Lutyens bungalows to be vacated by former occupants who are overstaying despite heavy penalties and eviction threats while 39 "mantris" have got homes.

With VIPs keen to get bungalows of their choice, Directorate of Estates acted swiftly and allotted houses to 39 ministers who did not have official accommodation in the Capital.

Former Maharashtra CM and Cabinet minister Vilasrao Deshmukh has been alloted 14, Akbar Road but it is still occupied by former minister Mani Shankar Aiyar. Sources said Deshmukh, who vacated his CM`s bungalow within 15 days of being asked to step down in the wake of Mumbai attacks, has written to the PM complaining that even after three months of taking oath, he has not been able to get official residence.

Tribal affairs minister Kanti Lal Bhuria, who has been alloted 7, Kamaraj Lane, is also awaiting his bungalow to be vacated by his party colleague and former minister Shankar Singh Vaghela.

Former RJD minister Akhilesh Prasad Singh has not vacated his 36, Aurangzeb Road residence forcing social justice minister Mukul Wasnik, who has been alloted this bungalow, to be homeless. Sachin Pilot, who was staying at 3, Thyagraj Marg, has been allotted, perhaps his choice as well, his father-in-law Farooq Abdullah`s residence 11, Teen Murti Lane. He is still waiting for it to be vacated. Abdullah has been allotted a different bungalow. Another member of Rahul brigade Jitin Prasad has been allotted 19, Teen Murti Lane, near Pilot`s new house.

Deputy speaker of Lok Sabha Kariya Munda, who has been allotted 1, Sunehri Bagh Road, is homeless as the house is still to be vacated by his predecessor A S Chatwal.

High profile corporate honcho Nandan Nilekani, who has been given Cabinet rank as UID chief, is still waiting for a house in the Capital. Though UD ministry has allotted him 2, Safdarjung Lane, former occupant Subbulakshmi Jagadeesan, a DMK MoS in the last government, has not vacated.

Minister of state Arun Yadav, who has been allotted 29, Lodhi Estate and S Jagathrakshakan, given 47, Lodhi Estate, are still without a house as previous occupants B Datta and Saleem Sherwani respectively have not vacated.

UD ministry, which is finding it difficult to satisfy VIPs, has acted swiftly and allotted residences to most of the ministers in time. Rural development and panchayati raj minister C P Joshi has been alloted 15, Ashoka Road bungalow, steel minister and former Himachal chief minister Virbhadra Singh 1, Jantar Mantar, foreign minister S M Krishna 1, Thyagraj Marg, health minister Ghulam Nabi Azad 7, Akbar Road, parliamentary affairs minister Pawan Kumar Bansal 6, Ashoka Road and labour minister Mallikarjun Kharge 9, Safdarjung Road.

DMK chief K Karananidhi`s son and chemicals and fertilisers minister M K Alagiri has been allotted 1, Dupleix Road residence. Minister of state for agriculture K V Thomas has moved to his official residence at 17, Balwant Rai Mehta Lane. MoS Pradeep Jain has been allotted 78, Lodhi Estate, Sultan Ahmed 48, Lodhi Estate, Vincent H Pal 21, B R Mehta Lane, Dinesh Trivedi 4, Lodhi Estate, Shashi Tharoor 97, Lodhi Estate, Sri Prakash Jaiswal 7, Teen Murti Marg, Bharat Singh Solanki 6, K Kamraj Lane.

First Published: Saturday, September 12, 2009 - 09:49
comments powered by Disqus