Assembly constituencies of Kerala

A brief look at some of the key assembly constituencies of Kerala.


Thiruvananthapuram formerly known as Trivandrum, is the capital of Kerala and the headquarters of the Thiruvananthapuram district. It is located on the west coast of India near the extreme south of the mainland. With almost 745,000 inhabitants per the 2001 census, it is the largest and most populous city in Kerala. Apart from being the IT hub of the state with over 80% of the state`s software exports, Thiruvananthapuram ranks first in the number of international tourists in Kerala.

The city has a population of 744,739 according to the 2001 census (nearly 1.1 million in Nov 2006). The district has a literacy rate of 89.36%. With the sex ratio of 1,037 females to every 1,000 males, there are more women in Thiruvananthapuram than men.

In October 2010, the area of the city was increased from 86 wards to 100 wards by adding Sreekaryam, Vattiyoorkavu, Kudappanakunnu, Vizhinjam and Kazhakuttam panchayats into the corporation. Hindus comprise 65% of the population, Christians are about 18% of the population, and Muslims are about 15% of the populace. The major language spoken is Malyalam. English, Tamil and Hindi are also widely understood.


Kovalam is a beach town on the Arabian Sea in Kerala. It is located around 13 km from Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum). Kovalam assembly constituency is part of Trivandrum Lok Sabha constituency.


Guruvayur also written as Guruvayoor or Gurupavanapuri is a municipal town in Thrissur District of Kerela. It houses the famous Guruvayur Sree Krishna Temple, the fourth biggest temple in India in terms of the number of devotees per day. Guruvayur, according to the legends may be 5,000 years old as the Guruvayur temple idol is. There are no historical records to establish it.

Guruvayoor Township was formed on January 26, 1962 with four electoral wards with an area of 6.49 km. Later the wards were increased to 10 and in 1994 to 20 when the township was upgraded to Municipality status with an area of 29.66 km. In 2010, the electoral wards were increased to 43. Guruvayoor is a Grade-III Municipality. The Municipality has a total population of 20,216 with a population density of 31, 14 per km. Guruvayoor assembly constituency is part of Trichur Lok Sabha constituency.

As per the Indian census of 2001, Guruvayur had a population of 21,187. Males constitute 46% of the population and females 54%. Guruvayur has an average literacy rate of 85%, higher than the national average of 59.5%. Male literacy is 86%, and female literacy is 85%.

Kozhikode North AND Kozhikode South

The city is administered by the Kozhikode Corporation, headed by a mayor, and with its headquarters in Kozhikode. Kozhikode has two assembly constituencies, Kozhikode North and Kozhikode South, both of which are part of Kozhikode Lok Sabha constituency. Kozhikode also known as Calicut, is a city in the northern part of Kerala. Kozhikode is the headquarters of the Kozhikode district.

Kozhikode has a population of 436,556 as per 2001 census, with an extended metropolitan population of about 0.9 million, making it the third largest urban agglomeration and the third largest city in Kerala. Kozhikode has an average sex ratio of 1,055 females for every 1000 male. Males constitute 49% of the population and females 51%. Kozhikode has an average literacy rate of 92.24% wherein male literacy rate is 96.6% and female literacy rate is 90.6%. Malyalam is the most spoken language.


Thrissur Assembly constituency is part of Thrissur Lok Sabha constituency. Thrissur previously known as Trichur is the headquarters of the Thrissur district. Thrissur city is built around a 65-acre (26 ha) hillock called the Thekkinkadu Maidan which seats the Vadakkumnathan temple. Thrissur is the 5th most populous city in Kerela by population and the second-largest city corporation by area in the state. It is located about 290 kilometres (180 mi) north of the state capital Thiruvananthapuram.

Thrissur is also known as the Cultural Capital of Kerela because of its cultural, spiritual and religious leanings towards history. As per 2001 India census Thrissur city had a population of 317,474. Males constitute 48.6% and females constitute 51.4% of the total population. The sex ratio is 1,092/1,000 male.


Kochi, formerly known as Cochin (the colonial-era name), is a major port city located on the west coast of the country, by the Arabian Sea. Kochi is part of the district of Ernakulam. The civic body that governs the city is the Corporation of Cochi, which was constituted in the year 1967 and the statutory body that over sees its development is the Greater Cochin Development Authority. The city of Kochi is Kerala`s second largest city and is part of an extended metropolitan region, which is the largest urban agglomeration in Kerala. Kochi is part of the Ernakulam Lok Sabha constituency. The Ernakulam Lok Sabha constituency elects six members to the Legislative Assembly. Out of this, four constituencies, namely Kochi, Ernakulam, Thripunithura and Thrikkakara represent the city.

With a population of 595,575 as in 2001, the city of Kochi has Kerala`s highest population density parameter with 6277 persons per sq km. As of 2009, Kochi had a metropolitan area population of 1,355,972. Kochi`s literacy rate is 94%. The female literacy rate lags that of males by 1.1%, amongst the lowest such gaps in India.


Ernakulam refers to the western part of the mainland of Kochi city in Kerala. The name `Ernakulam` is derived from the name of a very famous temple of Lord Shiva called the Ernakulathappan temple. It is also said that the word Ernakulam was drawn from Malayalam words `Ere naal Kulam`, which mean `Pond for a long time`. Ernakulam is the commercial capital of the state of Kerala. The Kerala High Court is situated in Ernakulam. Ernakulam assembly constituency is part of Ernakulam Lok Sabha constituency.


Idukki is a town in the district of Idukki. Idukki Dam is located in this town. As per 2001 India census Idukki town had a population of 11,014. Males constitute 51% of the population and females 49%. Idukki town has an average literacy rate of 82%, higher than the national average of 59.5%: male literacy is 84%, and female literacy is 81%. Idukki assembly constituency is part of Idukki Lok Sabha constituency.


Kottayam is the administrative capital of the Kottayam istrict. Kottayam is located in south-central Kerala and is approximately 150 km (93.2 mi) from the state capital Thiruvananthapuram. The town is an important trading centre of spices and ommercial crops, especially rubber. Also a pioneering center of modern education in Kerala, the city became India`s first municipality to achieve 100% literacy in 1989 and the district became the first tobacco free district in India.

The city of Kottayam is also called as ‘Akshara Nagari’ which means the "City of Letters" considering its contribution to print media and literature. As per 2001 India census Kottayam Urban Agglomeration had a population of 1,72,878 , while Kottayam district had a population of 19,52,901. Males constitute 49% of the population and females 51%. It is one of the very few places which witnessed a negative population growth from 1991 to 2001.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link