Assembly polls 2012: All set for vote count

Five states of Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Manipur and Goa voted in the state Assembly elections in 2012.

New Delhi: Counting of votes in the
Assembly elections in the five states of Uttar Pradesh,
Uttarakhand, Punjab, Manipur and Goa, considered "mini general
elections", will be taken up on Tuesday.

The counting will begin at 0800 hours today and first results
are expected in an hour or two and all the results by evening.

The results will decide the fate of candidates in a total
of 690 assembly seats --- 403 in UP, 117 seats in Punjab, 70
in Uttarakhand, 60 in Manipur and 40 in Goa.

The elections, which have taken place in the middle of
the last Lok Sabha election in 2009 and the next in 2014 are
being considered some sort of "semi final" for the UPA and

While the Congress facing one controversy after another
is looking forward to salvage its image, the opposition
combine treats it as an occasion to pitch for a larger claim
in 2014.

Looking for some buffer amid pulls and pressures of a
troubling ally Mamata Banerjee, Congress faces an uphill task
in reviving its fortunes in Uttar Pradesh.

BJP`s task is also daunting as it has to return to power
in Uttarakhand, where corruption allegations against it appear
to have tilted the balance in favour of Congress. NDA also has
a tough task in retaining Punjab.

Rahul Gandhi had led the campaign in the Mayawati-ruled
Uttar Pradesh from the front where Congress is contesting 357
seats in alliance with Ajit Singh`s RLD in the 403-member

The party had won only 22 seats in the 2007 assembly
elections in the state but made a spectacular show in last Lok
Sabha elections where it won 22 Parliamentary seats coming as
a shock to Samajwadi Party, BSP and BJP.

The ruling BSP in UP has contested all 403 seats, SP 402,
BJP 398 and RLD 46. Exit polls have predicted a hung assembly
in the state with the SP showed as cornering the major chunk
of seats.

In the last assembly election, the BSP had won 206 seats
and got a majority on its own surprising political pundits. SP
had got 97 seats, BJP 50 and RLD, which contested in alliance
with BJP won 10 seats. Independents and others had got 17

The Congress, led by former Chief Minister Captain
Amarinder Singh is quite hopeful of wresting power from the
BJP-Shiromani Akali Dal combine in Punjab amid indications
that BJP`s hold on urban areas had substantially gone down.

Congress is contesting all 117 seats here, while SAD 94
and BJP 23. In the last election SAD had won 50 seats,
Congress 42, BJP 19 and independents 06.

BJP, which ruled Uttarakhand through a simple majority
by winning 36 of 70 seats in last elections, faces a tough
challenge this time.

It had to change its Chief Minister Ramesh Pokhariyal
"Nishank" ahead of elections and replace him with B C
Khanduri, who did not get sufficient time to salvage the dent.

BJP, Congress and BSP are contesting all the 70 seats
here. Congress had won 20 seats in last elections and BSP 08.
Uttarakhand Kranti Dal, which had won three seats in the last
Assembly election is contesting on 52 seats. Three seats had
gone to independents in the last election.

Similarly in Manipur, Congress had got a simple majority
in last assembly election winning 31 of the total 60 seats
while Manipur People`s Party had won five, NCP and CPI four
each, National People`s Party and Lalu Prasad`s RJD three
each. Independents had bagged a whopping 10 seats.

Congress Chief Minister Ibobi Singh, perhaps, faces the
toughest election for his party this time but Congress is
hopeful of a win in absence of a united Opposition. Exit polls
suggest Congress is retaining the state.

Goa in which Congress has its government headed by
Digambar Kamat is a state where post poll formulations matter
as much as the poll itself.

Congress looks poised for a pitched battle with BJP. Both
the Congress and the BJP have entered into alliances ---
Congress with the NCP and BJP with the MGP.

Illegal mining an issue but locally it did not become a
poll issue as the syndrome allegedly afflicts both parties.

Congress had won 16 seats, BJP 14, NCP 03, and MGP, SGF
and UGDP and independents 02 each. This time also it is
expected to be a photo finish between the two alliances.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link